Senate Resolution No. 2709

BY: Senator SEWARD

COMMENDING the Cooperstown Community Band upon the occasion of celebrating its 150th Anniversary Season

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative body to honor and pay tribute to those organizations and individuals whose commitment and creative talents have contributed to the entertainment and cultural enrichment of the citizens of the State of New York; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commend the Cooperstown Community Band of Cooperstown, New York, upon the occasion of celebrating its 150th Anniversary Season in 2011; and

WHEREAS, The Cooperstown Community Band originated in 1862, during the Civil War when 13 men left Cooperstown to serve as Doubleday's Band in the New York 66th Regiment as part of the war effort; and

WHEREAS, Today, under the luminous leadership of its director, Julie M. Solomon, the Cooperstown Community Band is comprised of approximately 45 volunteer musicians from communities throughout Otsego County as well as surrounding counties; they range in age from 9 to 89, some of which can boast lengthy memberships including one member who has played with the band for 54 dedicated years; and

WHEREAS, The Cooperstown Community Band Season runs each year from Memorial Day through Labor Day, with many rehearsals and performances throughout the summer, some of which include Lakefront Park, the Otesaga Hotel, and the cherished 4th of July Celebration in Springfield, New York; and

WHEREAS, The Cooperstown Community Band concerts often begin with the "Star Spangled Banner" and end with the official march of the United States of America, "Stars and Stripes Forever"; music selections include marches, standard concert selections, patriotic 6-pieces, popular music, and selections from Broadway Shows; and

WHEREAS, The board of directors for the 2011 Cooperstown Community Band are President Tim Williammee, Vice President Brent Leonard, Secretary Amy Herr, and Treasurer Arnie Jungkind, as well as board members Ed Badgely, Karen Dunlap, Gary Schaffer, Bill Shaul, and Dr. Ted Peters; and

WHEREAS, Band Members performing with the Cooperstown Community Band during its 150th Anniversary Season include Sally Goodwin, Lily Wadsworth, Muriel Beattie, Tom Beattie, Tim Williammee, Paul Tobler, Arnie Jungkind, Ed Badgley, Amy Herr, Beth Lesko, Janice Pahls, Chris Pahls, Merle Young, Liza Hendricks, Krista Porter, Hetty Adams, Karen Dunlap, Gretchen Becker, Rod Carter, Jim Peters, Bill Shaul, Geoffrey Schaffer, Gary Schaffer, Patty Gracey, Brent Leonard, Sheila Naar, Josh Naar, Ryan Crouse, Tom Huntsman, Ted Peters, Marty Kelly, Ron Johnson, Julie Solomon, Samuel Solomon, Museyb Shareef, Kate Resnick, Brittney Crouse, Jake Muehl, Jake Anderson, Therese Gigliotti, Joe Mone, Sarah Hovick, Allen Hills, Tim Siegel, Jack Siegel and Sarah Siegel; and WHEREAS, It is most fitting that we take time to celebrate the music of our nation, to honor our artists and musicians, and to express our appreciation to everyone who patronizes the arts; and as we celebrate the music, we celebrate and give thanks for our American freedom, the only atmosphere in which artists can truly create and in which music is truly the expression of the free soul; and

WHEREAS, The arts, in whatever form presented, are central to human expression; they are truly a universal language and their contribution to the development of friendship and understanding among all peoples cannot be underestimated; individuals who provide a means of preserving a part of our rich American past and which contribute to the community in such noble endeavors as aforementioned, are held in the highest regard by this Legislative Body; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commend the Cooperstown Community Band upon the occasion of celebrating its 150th Anniversary Season; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Julie M. Solomon, director of the Cooperstown Community Band.