

## NEW YORK STATE LEGISLATURE

September 25, 2023

The Honorable Kathy Hochul Governor, New York State Executive Chamber, State Capitol Albany, NY 12224

Dear Governor Hochul:

On behalf of struggling cannabis farmers across New York State, we are urging you to sign S.7295A/A.7375A, known as the "Cannabis Crop Rescue Act."

Very simply, the extended timeline of New York State's troubled rollout of the licensing and regulations establishing a safe, legal market for adult-use cannabis has had a significant negative impact on New York's licensed cannabis farmers who invested in crops they now have limited places to sell. The crop is also losing value by the day. Regulatory delays, lawsuits, and logistical and financing challenges have caused the state to miss its timelines and targets. However, cultivators are the group paying the steepest price.

Right now, there are over 200 cannabis farmers trying to sell their crops but only 23 dispensaries open statewide. This has resulted in more than 250,000 pounds of unsold cannabis<del>.</del> Farmers who took out loans and leveraged all their assets to cultivate these crops are demoralized and facing financial disaster unless we act quickly to provide them with an alternate market.

Allowing these farmers to sell their cannabis to purchasing agents from New York's Tribal Nations can be a short-term solution. These Tribal dispensaries would benefit from access to a source of local, safe, laboratory-tested products. Farmers would benefit from a new pathway to sell their products. Along with the Cannabis Grower's Showcases, it could be the financial lifeline they need right now.

New York's cannabis farmers, who went out on a limb to help get the state's legal market off the ground, should not be facing financial ruin because of regulatory delays. We should be giving them every possible opportunity to stay afloat while they await the development of the market they were promised. The Cannabis Crop Rescue Act is such an opportunity.

Thank you for your consideration of our request.

Sincerely,

Michelle Hindrey

Senator Michelle Hinchey 41<sup>st</sup> Senate District Chair, Senate Agriculture Committee

Donna h. Lupardo

Assemblywoman Donna Lupardo 123<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District Chair, Assembly Agriculture Committee

Liz Kruepen

Senator Liz Krueger 28<sup>th</sup> Senate District Chair, Senate Finance Committee

profi Um gelino

Assemblyman Joseph G. Angelino 112nd Assembly District

Senator Jamaal T. Bailey 36<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Nel D. Breshin

Senator Neal Breslin 46<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Senator Samra Brouk 55<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Heorye M Boullo

Senator George M. Borrello 57<sup>th</sup> Senate District Ranking Member, Senate Agriculture Committee

hun

Assemblyman Chris Tague 120<sup>th</sup> Assembly District Ranking Member, Assembly Agriculture Committee

Cyptul Br- Sox

Assemblywoman Crystal People-Stokes 141<sup>st</sup> Assembly District Assembly Majority Leader

Nor Ban

Assemblyman Scott Bendett 107<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Harl A Bahener

Assemblyman Karl Brabenec 98<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Harry B. Browson

Assemblyman Harry B. Bronson 138<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Jarah Clark

Assemblywoman Sarah Clark 136<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

)evan A.

Senator Jeremy Cooney 56<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Assemblywoman Catalina Cruz 39<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Assemblywoman Emily Gallagher 50<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Senator Nathalia Fernandez 34<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Jodi (iglio

Assemblywoman Jodi Giglio 2<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Senator Andrew Gounardes 26<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Stern A 6

Assemblyman Scott Gray 116<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

9

Senator Leroy Comrie 14<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Assemblyman Joe DeStefano 3<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District

Assemblywoman Patricia Fahy 10<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

ough M. Higlio

Assemblyman Joseph M. Giglio 148<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Somula

Senator Kristen Gonzalez 59<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Deharah J. Jul

Assemblywoman Deborah J. Glick 66<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Senator Robert Jackson 31<sup>st</sup> Senate District

met terestor

Assemblyman Jonathan G. Jacobson 104<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Assemblyman Andrew Hevesi 28<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Janele J. Atuter

Assemblywoman Pamela J. Hunter 128<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

UhC.Z.

Senator John C. Liu 16<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Assemblyman Brian Maher 101<sup>st</sup> Assembly District

im D. Martite

Assemblyman Brian Manktelow 130<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Shilley B. Mayer

Senator Shelley B. Mayer 37<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Brod Hoylman - Sigal

Senator Brad Hoylman-Sigal 47<sup>th</sup> Senate District

H Calom

Senator Pam Helming 54<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Tinot M. Kennes

Senator Tim Kennedy 63<sup>rd</sup> Senate District

Dennifer Lunshord

Assemblywoman Jen Lunsford 135<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

John W. Mannion

Senator John Mannion 50<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Karla Merry

Senator Rachel May 48<sup>th</sup> Senate District

LIMI

Assemblyman John T. McDonald III 108<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Brian D. Miller

Assemblyman Brian D. Miller 122<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Senator Zellnor Myrie 20<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Senator Tom O'Mara 58<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Sam Piropole

Assemblyman Sam Pirozzolo 63<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District

Senator Gustavo Rivera 33<sup>rd</sup> Senate District

Jessica Carcella - Spanton

Senator Jessica Scarcella-Spanton 23<sup>rd</sup> Senate District

Assemblyman Matthew Simpson 114<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Angelo & Morenello

Assemblyman Angelo J. Morinello 145<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Pit Cherale

Senator Peter Oberacker 51<sup>st</sup> Senate District

Assemblyman Philip A. Palmesano 132<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Edward he

Assemblyman Edward P. Ra 19<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

linde fesent bal

Assemblywoman Linda B. Rosenthal 67<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Jun 1-f

Senator Luis R. Sepúlveda 32<sup>nd</sup> Senate District

Senator James Skoufis 42<sup>nd</sup> Senate District

Stavisly

Senator Toby Ann Stavisky 11<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Yudelka

Assemblywoman Yudelka Tapia 86<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

mayou

Assemblywoman Mary Beth Walsh 112<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

arriv U

Assemblywoman Carrie Woerner 113<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Senator Kevin Thomas 6<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Albert d. Stupe

Assemblyman Al Stirpe 127<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Fred Thiele, gr

Assemblyman Fred W. Thiele, Jr. 1<sup>st</sup> Assembly District

a With

Senator Lea Webb 52<sup>nd</sup> Senate District

Senator Patrick Gallivan 60<sup>th</sup> Senate District

wir R Kellis

Assemblymember Anna Kelles 125<sup>th</sup> Assembly District