

June 5, 2023

President Joseph R. Biden The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. Washington DC, 20003

Dear President Biden,

We write to request that you act immediately to grant work authorization to New York City's asylum seeker population through Humanitarian Parole and Temporary Protected Status, and that you increase the number of U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) staff to expedite application processing.

The individuals and families coming to New York are professionals, including, business owners, welders, teachers, reporters, and more. Tens of thousands of asylum seekers in New York City want and need to work, but very few have been approved to do so and they face years-long processing times for their applications. Many are working without authorization, which puts them at risk of exploitation and injury.

No work means no money. No money means no way to afford an apartment or groceries. No apartment or groceries means full dependence on city social services and non-profit organizations. Full dependence means an open-ended and heavy strain on the city budget and the asylum seekers' dignity and mobility.

The Department of Homeland Security has the discretion to grant Humanitarian Parole and Temporary Protected Status without Congressional action. The regulations are broad: parole can be granted for "urgent humanitarian reasons" or "significant public benefit." Both scenarios are applicable to the situation in New York City.

New York City is perhaps the only city in the nation with the infrastructure, jobs, and generosity to handle this crisis, but we can't sustain it if migrants can't work. We urge you to take the steps necessary to grant work authorization right away.

Sincerely,

Council Member Gale A. Brewer

Adrienne Alamo

Speaker Adrienne E. Adams

Comptroller Brad Lander

Council Member Chi Ossé

Council Member Althea Stevens

pailes fram

Council Member Charles Barron

1an

Council Member Shaun Abreu

Council Member Pierina Ana Sanchez

Public Advocate Jumaane Williams

Council Member Erik Bottcher

1

Council Member Kamillah M. Hanks

Council Member Crystal Hudson

lyutiener Jenn

Council Member Jennifer Gutiérrez

Council Member Amanda Farías

Can De Je Rom

VCe

Council Member Carmen De La Rosa

0.

Council Member Carlina Rivera

Council Member Shahana Hanif

Council Member Sandy Nurse



Council Member Oswald Feliz

Council Member Tiffany Cabán

angela

Council Member Diana Ayala

Council Member Farah N. Louis

6.

Council Member Lynn Schulman

find

Council Member Alexa Avilés

Council Member Eric Dinowitz

leman

Council Member James F. Gennaro

hannan

Council Member Justin Brannan

Council Member Julie Won

Keith F

**Council Member Keith Powers** 

Council Member Linda Lee

nancioco

Council Member Francisco Moya

Menul Jonse

Council Member Mercedes Narcisse

Council Member Julie Menin,

K. Riley

Council Member Kevin C. Riley

Kristin Richardson (

Council Member Kristin Richardson Jordan

N eath

Council Member Lincoln Restler

Council Member Marjorie Velázquez

mduer

Council Member Sandra Ung

John 2

Council Member Shekar Krishnan



Council Member Rafael Salamanca, Jr.

Not No

Council Member Nantasha Williams

Council Member Christopher Marte, District 1

Rte

Council Member Rita Joseph

Senator Jamaal Bailey

Cardes Cline

Senator Cordell Cleare

Tenh

Senator Nathalia Fernandez

Council Member Selvena Brooks-Powers

Senator Jabari Brisport

Senator Leroy Comrie

mital

Senator Michael Gianaris

Kouter Somuly

Senator Kristen Gonzalez

Michelle Hind

Senator Andrew Gounardes

Brod Hoyeman - Sigul

Senator Michelle Hinchey

Lobert Jack

Senator Robert Jackson

12 Krueps

Senator Liz Krueger

Senator Brad Hoylman-Sigal

66

State Senator Brian Kavanagh

gh C.Z.

Senator John Liu

Shilley B. Mayer

Senator Shelley B. Mayer

seame fersand.

Senator Roxanne Persuad

Senator Zellnor Myrie

Jemica Ramos

Senator Jessica Ramos



Senator Gustavo Rivera

Juin R. Sepulveda

Senator Luis R. Sepúlveda

staursy

Senator Toby Ann Stavisky

Timot M. Kannes

Senator Timothy Kennedy

Senator Julia Salazar

)evan A.

Senator Jeremy Cooney

Senator James Sanders, Jr.

mans

State Senator José M. Serrano

Senator Samra Brouk

John W. Mannion

Senator John Mannion

Sian M Ryan

Senator Sean Ryan