ATTENTION NEW YORK STATE EMPLOYERS

How New York's new paid sick leave law affects your employees under quarantine after exposure to COVID-19.

Effective immediately, every employee in the State will be eligible for paid leave in some form if they are subject to a mandatory or precautionary order of quarantine or isolation due to exposure to **COVID-19** issued by the state of New York, the DOH, a local board of health, or any authorized governmental entity due. The type of paid leave is based on the size of the employer as of January 1, 2020:

Employers with 10 or fewer employees: Employers provide unpaid sick leave until the termination of the order. During this time, the employee will be immediately eligible for payments to make them whole first under the paid family leave program (up to \$840.70 per week) with any difference made up by the temporary disability insurance program (up to \$2,043.92 per week).

Employers with between 11 and 99 employees, and employers with 10 or fewer employees with a net income of greater than one million dollars in the previous tax year: Employers provide at least five days of paid sick leave, and then after five days of paid sick leave the employee will be immediately eligible for payments to make them whole first under the paid family leave program (up to \$840.70 per week) with any difference made up by the temporary disability insurance program (up to \$2,043.92 per week).

Employers with 100 or more employees and all public employers: Employers provide at least fourteen days of paid sick leave during the order.

Non-Retaliation: All employees on leave due to an order of quarantine or isolation receive job protections and cannot be discriminated or retaliated against for taking that leave.

Exclusion for Travel: If an employee travels to a country for which the CDC has a designated Level 2 or 3 health notice for a non-work purpose even after the employee was provided notice of the travel health notice and how it would impact their eligibility for leave, such employee shall only be able to use their existing accrued leave or unpaid leave, without any additional paid benefits.

Working Remotely: An employee is not eligible for paid leave if an employee is deemed asymptomatic or has not been diagnosed with any medical condition and is able to work from home.

What if my employee's child is under quarantine?

The parent is entitled to take leave under the paid family leave program.

For more information visit:

https://www.governor.ny.gov/programs/paid-sick-leave-covid-19-impacted-new-yorkers or call: 1-888-364-3065.

