





July 24, 2020

Dear Senator Schumer and Gillibrand:

The U.S. House of Representatives passed the Moving Forward Act, H.R. 2, a \$1.5 trillion plan to rebuild America's transportation infrastructure on June 26. A vital part of the Moving Forward Act for New York City is that it would extend commuter tax benefits to include bikes, e-bikes, and bike share memberships. Specifically, it would provide riders with a pre-tax benefit of up to \$54 a month to cover commuting costs.

As elected officials representing New York City, we thank you for being champions of public transportation and want to add our support to this proposal if it comes to the U.S. Senate.

New York is a place of particular need for these transportation investments, as we are always faced with challenges related to commuter congestion and advocating for alternatives to traditional transportation. In normal times, we struggle with car-jammed streets, and crumbling and crowded subways, let alone in times when we are trying to social distance amid COVID-19. Bicycling is a way to alleviate the crowds underground and not add more cars to our lanes of traffic in the city.

In New York City, with 1,301 lane miles of bike lanes, approximately nine hundred thousand (900,000) adults ride regularly, at least several times a month. 50,900 New Yorkers use a bicycle as their primary mode of commuting to work - that is a total of 101,800 bike trips per day. From 2013 to 2018, cycling to work has grown more than two times faster in New York City than it has on average in peer cities like Los Angeles, Chicago, San Francisco, and Washington DC.

As we recover from COVID-19 and start moving forward again, we need to support commuters and ensure their safety. The support in pre-tax benefits included in the Moving Forward Act would assist many New Yorkers, in their bank accounts, in practicing social distancing, and in getting back to work.

We appreciate your continued support for New York City during difficult times. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to us.

Sincerely,

Council Member Keith Powers Senator Andrew Gounardes Assembly Member Nily Rozic Senator Brian Kavanagh Senator Brad Hoylman Senator James Skoufis Senator Jen Metzger Assembly Member Steve Englebright Assembly Member Deborah Glick Assembly Member Dan Quart Assembly Member Harvey Epstein Assembly Member Patricia Fahy Assembly Member Donna Lupardo Council Majority Leader Laurie Cumbo Council Member Margaret Chin Council Member Carlos Menchaca Council Member Vanessa Gibson Council Member Ydanis Rodriguez Council Member Justin Brannan Council Member Ben Kallos Council Member Carlina Rivera Council Member Diana Ayala Council Member Andy Cohen Council Member Mark Treyger Council Member Karen Koslowitz Council Member Alicka Ampry-Samuel Council Member Daneek Miller Council Member Debi Rose Council Member Jimmy Van Bramer Council Member Eric Ulrich Council Member Barry Grodenchik Council Member Peter Koo Council Member Alan Maisel Council Member Antonio Reynoso Council Member Stephen Levin Council Member Helen Rosenthal Council Member Fernando Cabrera