





October 26, 2018

Andy Byford President MTA-New York City Transit 2 Broadway New York, NY 10004

Dear President Byford:

As elected officials representing constituents affected by the L Train Tunnel Closure mitigation plan (the "project"), we are writing to formally request the MTA commit to installing ambient air monitors along the route of the project.

As you know, the project includes the deployment of 185 diesel buses departing approximately every two minutes, so it is understandable that constituents along the route have expressed concerns about the impact on air quality in their communities.

We therefore request your commitment to the following:

- 1. Implement ambient air monitors along the route throughout the entirety of the shutdown period, including time to establish baseline readings; and
- 2. Make data from such ambient air monitors available to the public in a timely manner.

According to the NYC Department of Health, an estimated 2,700 people die prematurely each year in New York City as a result of air pollution, in addition to many more who experience poor health, costing the healthcare system hundreds of millions of dollars annually. Given these statistics, air quality data is essential to assess the extent of pollution resulting from the project in order to take the steps necessary to protect human health and the environment.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. We greatly appreciate your leadership and continued outreach and cooperation with our constituents on the project. Should you have any questions or follow-up, please contact any one of our offices.

Sincerely yours,

Brad Hoylman Brad Hoylman

Brad Hoylman State Senator

Gale Brewer Manhattan Borough President

Harvey Epstein Assembly Member

Letter to NYCT President Andy Byford October 26, 2018 Page 2

Carolyn B. Malong

Carolyn Maloney Member of Congress

Corey Johnson NYC Council Speaker

Brian Kavanagh State Senator

Deharah J. Jul

Deborah J. Glick Assembly Member

Juhlac Min

Yuh-Line Niou Assembly Member

Keith

Keith Powers NYC Council Member

Jenoth Hadlen

Jerrold L. Nadler Member of Congress

Adams Ehi I

Eric Adams Brooklyn Borough President

/ 12 Kruep

Liz Krueger State Senator

Richard N. Gottfried Assembly Member

Marganit Chi

Margaret Chin NYC Council Member

Antonio Reynoso NYC Council Member

hoper & HA

Nydia Velázquez Member of Congress

Murtin Pfeleie Defer

Martin Malave Dilan State Senator

Manta

Maritza Davila Assembly Member

ph R. Lentol

Joseph R. Lentol Assembly Member

Stephen T. Ten

Stephen Levin NYC Council Member

Carlina Rivera NYC Council Member