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L E T T E R S  P O L I C Y

Despite the many 
burdens weighing 
on farm families, 

before leaving Albany 
last week Governor 
Andrew Cuomo and the 
Democratic leaders of 
the state Legislature 
piled on one more.

Euphemistically called 
the “Farmworkers Fair 
Labor Practices Act,” 
there is nothing fair 
about it. It mandates 
overtime pay for a farm-
worker who voluntarily 
wants to work on his or 
her mandated day off. It 
fails to take into account 
the cost of housing many 
farm employers provide 
to many farmworkers.

Further, it creates a 
three-member Farm 
Wage Board with the 
power to change the law 
whenever it sees fit and 
as soon as two months 
after this law goes into 
effect. 

This passes the buck 
from the Legislature 
to an unelected body, 
an action becoming all 
too common under the 
current Legislature, 
including, among 
many others, commis-
sions on Legislative 
Pay, Commuter Tax/
Congestion Pricing and 
Taxpayer Financing of 
Campaigns.

From day one, I 
strongly opposed this 
move. With the state 
Senate now under 
Democrat control, the 
farm community has 
been on high alert this 
year, recognizing that 
an extreme action like 
this one could very well 
become the law of their 

land.
Bottom line: the Act’s 

approval could decimate 
net farm income for 
every sector of our lead-
ing agricultural economy 
and put family farms out 
of business.

I have shared this 
alarm with many col-
leagues, including area 
Assemblyman Phil 
Palmesano. Early this 
year, we called for state-
wide public hearings to 
give farmers, growers, 
agribusiness owners, 
farm community lead-
ers, farmworkers, and all 
others the opportunity 
to testify and finally 
dispel the falsehoods and 
myths surrounding the 
proposal.

In part, we wrote, “The 
misguided and misrepre-
sented Farmworkers Fair 
Labor Practices Act poses 
an extreme action at a 
time of already severe 
economic struggle for 
New York State farm-
ers. Worse, the Act’s 
consequences would 
produce a nightmare of a 
ripple effect across local 
communities in every 
region of this state and 
profoundly diminish the 
future of high quality, 
local food production.”

It will indeed be a 
nightmare of a ripple 
effect. Some scenarios 
are stunning. It’s already 
been shown that total 
farm labor costs in New 
York State are at least 
63 percent of net cash 
farm income, compared 
to 36 percent nationally. 
Farm Credit East esti-
mates the new Act would 
increase farm labor costs 

by nearly $300 million or 
close to 20%, resulting in 
a drop in net farm income 
of 23%.

For New York State 
dairy farms barely 
making ends meet under 
current economic condi-
tions (and keeping in 
mind that New York 
State has already lost 
nearly 20% of our dairy 
farms over the past five 
years), the Act could 
wipe out remaining net 
farm income.

One Southern Tier 
generational dairy farmer 
said at a Farm Bureau 
news conference earlier 
this year that the leg-
islation would drive up 
her costs by more than 
$200,000 and put her 
farm out of business.

Her fears echo what 
many family farms now 
face. Far from imple-
menting fair labor 
practices, this action 
risks an enormous loss of 
farms and the thousands 
of livelihoods these farms 
support.

In short, it represents 
another bad move at 
the worst possible time, 
when too many family 
farms across our region 
and statewide are already 
struggling to survive.

In a long list of similar 
actions this year, it is 
another extreme move 
by a radically progres-
sive state government 
— under one-party 
control with no checks 
and balances — that 
will cost jobs, devastate 
hard-working families, 
and further weaken the 
foundations of local 
upstate economies.
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A nightmare 
for farming communities

Parents: Talk to teens 
about underage drinking

To the Editor,
As teenagers across the 

country prepare to cel-
ebrate key milestones in 
their lives in the upcom-
ing weeks of graduation 
season, whether at gradu-
ation itself or the many 
parties that come with 
this momentous occasion, 
parents can do their part to 
make sure they’re ready by 
talking with their teenagers 
about underage drinking.

While this isn’t always 
an easy conversation, there 
are several tools for parents 
and educators to start these 
vital discussions.

S e n e c a  B e v e r a g e 
Corporation would like 
to remind parents about 
the ‘Family Talk About 
Drinking’ program, a free 
parent guide designed to 
encourage open and honest 
communication between 
parents and their children 
of all ages. Programs like 
this, paired with educa-
tion and effective law 
enforcement, are essential 
to further reducing under-
age drinking.

You can find Family Talk 
About Drinking resources 
online.

As many of us at Seneca 
Beverage Corp are parents 
ourselves, we know the 
safety of your children is 
your top priority. As they 

grow up, children and 
teenagers look to you for 
guidance on how to navi-
gate our complex world.

There’s no single “right 
way” to talk about alco-
hol, underage drinking 
and responsible choices – 
what’s most important is 
to start the conversation, 
and Family Talk About 
Drinking can help you do 
just that.
Betsy Potter
Better World Manager, 
Seneca Beverage Corp

Make Summer 2019 
a safe one

To the Editor,
This letter is in response 

to the article of June 4 that 
appeared in The Leader on 
225 arrests made during 
Memorial Day Weekend in 
New York State.

Summer is finally here 
and with the warm weather 
brings great celebrations - 
Graduation parties, special 
summer events and lake 
activities.

All of the above usu-
ally involve driving to the 
event and drinking is usu-
ally involved.

Plans must be made 
before we start the above 
activities, or you will be 
among the new statistics 
for summer 2019. Just ask 
the 225 people arrested last 
month who did not take 

the warning and thought
it would never happen to
them. Do not be one of those
for summer 2019 or ever.

It is a big price to pay for
one summer celebration.

$10,000 is a lot of money
to spend for a DWI and as
shown in the above statis-
tics, some people do not
get it.

Points to keep in mind: 1)
there will be more sobriety
checkpoints this summer
2) have a designated driver
3) take a cab 4) stay over at 
a friend’s house or hotel
5) you can get a BWI by
operating a boat under the
influence of alcohol (0.08
same as autos) 6) remem-
ber the Host Social Liability
allowing people to leave a
party where alcohol was
served to drive home can
be held responsible 7) the
drinking age in New York
State is 21.

More news releases,
monitor signs on roads,
T V  c o m m e r c i a l s  f o r
summer 2019, yet some
people think it will never
happen to them. Life has
no guarantees.

Buckle up, stay off tex-
ting, drive within the speed
limit, no drinking and driv-
ing, no impaired  driving
and drugs and make the
summer 2019 the best and
safest yet for everyone.
Fran Avagliano
Corning

L E T T E R S  T O  T H E  E D I T O R

Education about Alzheimer’s and other 
dementias can turn the tide for a caregiver 
By Janet VanValkenburg, 
Director of Education
and Nanette Friedman,
Project Director

Alzheimer’s Association,
Rochester & Finger Lakes Region

If you have noticed changes 
related to memory loss, thinking 
or behavior in a family member, 
you may feel uncertain about 
voicing your worries. Perhaps, 
your loved one tells you, “Noth-
ing is wrong.” Perhaps, you may 
have been hesitant to learn more 
yourself for fear of the future. 

health concerns, and it’s import-

with your loved one. Ask your 
doctor for a cognitive assessment 
test to either rule out dementia or 
establish at which stage of the 
disease your loved one is.

Learning that someone you 
care about has Alzheimer’s or 

another dementia can be life 
changing. Immediate reactions 
of denial and fear are normal. 
While we understand both the 
person diagnosed and the care-
giver need time to come to terms 
with the diagnosis, we urge you 
to reach out to the Alzheimer’s 
Association. We will help your 
family learn about the diagno-
sis, prepare for what to expect at 
various stages of the disease, and 
acquire strategies that will make 
living with dementia easier.

In our experience, it is not 
unusual for a primary caregiv-
er such as a spouse or an adult 

-
ly to seek information about the 
disease soon after a diagnosis. 
These family members attend 
our introductory sessions, which 
focus on understanding dementia 
and provide tools for caregivers 
to process a dementia diagnosis. 
The sooner you are able to accept 
the diagnosis, the better suited 
you will be to help your loved 
one move closer to acceptance, 
too.

Some caregivers continue 
seeking more information and 
attend more advanced education 
programs we offer. But, more 
often than not, we don’t see care-
givers for another year or two, 
while their loved one is in the 
early-stage of the disease. These 
families are absorbing informa-
tion about dementia before they 
might be ready to learn more. 
Two or three years after the diag-
nosis and after we meet them at 
our introductory sessions, we see 

the same family members come 
back and enroll in our advanced 
education programs.

As dementia progresses, com-
munication becomes challeng-
ing. Your loved one may ex-

themselves through language. 
When the person with demen-
tia loses their ability to share 
thoughts, they also lose the abil-
ity to understand the caregiver. 
We equip caregivers with strate-
gies of effective verbal and non-
verbal communication. These 
strategies can be life changing. 
One caregiver who attended our 
communication session said, 
“This information is so incred-
ibly powerful, it needs to be 
broadcast on evening news on all 
channels.”

Families also seek guidance on 
how to respond to new demen-
tia-related behaviors. Caregiv-
ers notice mood changes late in 
the afternoon, when their loved 
one becomes too tired and over-
whelmed. Sometimes, the person 
living with dementia no longer 
recognizes her or his spouse. 
They become frightened facing 
a “stranger” and often try to 
leave their home. Sometimes, 
the person with dementia wakes 
up in the middle of the night and 
keeps everybody awake. Many 
caregivers tell us, “I a sleep with 
one eye open.” We offer ad-
vice on how to create a relaxed 
environment and engage your 
loved one in quiet activities. We 
also help families identify what 
might trigger aggressive behav-

ior and what approaches would 
give your loved one an oppor-
tunity to come down and make 
them more comfortable in the 
future. Caregivers often say, “I 
wish I knew what I know now. 

I had with Mom the other day. I 
feel guilty. Am I doing my best 
for my mom?”

Occasionally, a daughter or a 
son who is a primary caregiver 
comes to our education session 
together with a sibling who is 
visibly not interested. As we go 
through class and talk about the 
communication and behavioral 
changes their loved one expe-
riences, we notice how the de-
meanor of the reluctant caregiver 
changes. By the end of class, 
we often hear them say, “Oh, 
my goodness, Mom does have 
dementia.” As painful as the ex-
ercise was for both siblings, in 
the end, they are thankful for the 
information.

Caring for your loved one with 
Alzheimer’s or another dementia 
often involves a team of peo-
ple. Whether you provide daily 
caregiving or participate in the 
decision making remotely, our 
education programs will help 
your family navigate the journey 
at any stage of the disease. To 
learn more about our caregiver 
education or sign up for an ed-
ucation session near you, call 
1-800-272-3900 or visit alz.org. 
This content is funded by a grant 
from the New York State Depart-
ment of Health.
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