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REPORT TO NEW YORKERS ON HOUSING FROM STATE SENATOR LIZ KRUEGER

Dear Neighbor,

With the growing shortage of affordable housing—for both 
renters and homeowners—there has never been a more 
important time to understand your rights and how current 
housing laws apply to you.  There is not enough space to 
address all the pertinent facts, rights, and obligations so 
this newsletter covers the issues which come up most 
often in my District Office.  You should be aware, however, 
that there are exceptions to many of the regulations and 
programs outlined here.  

New York State’s rent regulation laws, which govern the 
rights of more than two million New York City tenants, 
were renewed through June 2015 at the end of this year’s 
legislative session.  A number of small amendments were 
made to the laws to increase tenant protections.  These 
changes are reflected throughout this newsletter and 
include: an increase in the monthly rent level at which 
landlords can deregulate vacant apartments from $2,000 to 
$2,500, an improvement to the formula used to determine 
the permanent monthly rent increases landlords may 
charge tenants for new appliances and services in buildings 
with more than 35 apartments, and the raising of the 
high income decontrol limit from $175,000 to $200,000.  
While I am pleased that the rent regulation laws were 
strengthened for the first time in eighteen years, I believe 
we had the opportunity to do much more to slow the 
erosion of affordable housing that occurs as apartments 
leave the system.  I consider the legislation we passed a 
down payment for further efforts to strengthen tenant 
protections in the future.

While the problems faced by condominium owners and co-
op shareholders are often very different from those faced by 
renters, my office also receives many inquiries from owners 
and shareholders who are confused about their rights and 
responsibilities.  Residential condominiums and co-ops are 
regulated by a complex set of laws, regulations, individual 
building bylaws, and other corporate documents.  Page 4 
of this newsletter provides a basic overview of the rights of 
all shareholders and condominium owners under various 
state and city laws, as well as a list of real estate property 
tax exemptions for which they may be eligible.

If you need more information, or help with individual or 
building-wide problems, please contact my office.  We 
will be happy to speak with you, either individually or in 
a group.  Please let me know if you would like additional 
copies to distribute in your building.

   Sincerely,

   Liz Krueger
   State Senator

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT TENANTS' RIGHTS

continues inside
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What services are tenants entitled to?
 The Warranty of Habitability Law, the Housing Maintenance Code, 
the Multiple Dwelling Law and other laws guarantee tenants certain essential 
services and protections.  Tenants have the right to a safe, well-maintained, livable 
apartment, to organize and hold tenants’ meetings in their buildings and to make 
complaints about lack of services without reprisals.  
   Owners must: identify and register with the New York City Department 
of Housing Preservation and Development (HPD) the name of both the owner 
and agent authorized to make emergency repairs and list a phone number in 
the building where the owner/agent can be reached at all times; provide regular 
extermination services if needed; provide daily garbage disposal by compactor or 
in a sufficient number of covered garbage cans; keep public areas of the building 
and lot clean and free of vermin; provide janitorial services; and keep the building 
in good repair.  For buildings with nine or more units, a super must live on the 
premises or within 200 feet of the building.

What are my responsibilities as a tenant? 
    Tenants must remember that they have legal responsibilities both to 
the building owner and their neighbors.  Tenants must properly maintain their 
apartments, discipline their pets, as well as keep stairwells, fire escapes and public 
hallways clean and clear of obstructions.  They must keep noise levels down from 
television sets and stereos and, if required in the lease, cover floors with rugs or 
carpeting.  They must also comply with NYC recycling requirements.  Tenants are 
also obligated to pay the rent on time.  By fulfilling these obligations, tenants may 
help create a more pleasant environment for everyone in the building and a more 
positive owner-tenants relationship.
    Leases are valid and enforceable contracts between tenants and owners 
and should be complied with by both sides.  In cases where the lease and the law 
differ, however, the law prevails, and tenants cannot sign away any of their legally 
protected rights.  

What if I don’t receive proper services or repairs?
 If you have a problem with building services or need repairs, first speak 
to the owner or the agent.  If they fail to respond to your complaint, put it in 
writing and mail it by certified mail, return receipt requested.  Keep copies of 
all correspondence and records of conversations.  If the owner does not act in a 
reasonable period of time (determined by the urgency of the problem), consider 
these options:
 Request a Code Enforcement Inspection.  Call the NYC Central 
Complaint Line at 311.  HPD will send inspectors to examine your problem and 
issue orders to correct violations if appropriate.   
   Go to Housing Court.  If your problem is serious, you may want to bring 
an action in Housing Court.  If your problem involves building-wide services, it 
is a good idea to undertake any legal action through a formal tenants’ association, 
although you may pursue an individual action.  To bring an owner to court, three 
forms, obtainable from the Housing Court at 111 Centre Street, must be completed: 
an Order to Show Cause, an affidavit detailing the complaint and an Affidavit of 
Service.  For more information on the Housing Court process, go to http://www.
cwtfhc.org/for-tenants.



      The $45.00 filing fee per action may be recovered if you 
win your case.  If you cannot afford the fee, you may apply to have it 
waived.  Once the proper forms have been filled out and the papers are 
served, you will be notified of a hearing date.  Judges can levy fines, 
issue orders to correct violations and appoint special administrators to 
run problem buildings.
   Seek a rent reduction.  Rent regulated tenants can file 
an application with the New York State Division of Housing and 
Community Development (DHCR) for a rent reduction based on 
decreased service(s).  DHCR has the authority to order a rent reduction 
until services are restored.  Separate complaint forms are available for 
individual and building-wide issues.  Forms are available online at 
http://nysdhcr.gov/Rent/.

What about heat and hot water?
   During the heating season (October 1 through May 31), owners 
must provide heat as follows: During the day (6 am to 10 pm), if the 
temperature outside is below 55 degrees, apartments must be heated 
to at least 68 degrees.  At night (10 pm to 6 am), if the temperature is 
below 40 degrees, apartments must be heated to at least 55 degrees.  
Owners must supply hot water all year long at a constant minimum 
temperature of 120 degrees.
   If your owner fails to provide heat or hot water, keep an 
accurate daily record of this and report it to HPD by calling 311.

Is my apartment rent-controlled or rent-stabilized?
 While there are exceptions to these general rules your 
apartment is probably rent-controlled if your building was built before 
1947, contains three or more apartments, and you or a family member 
moved in before July 1, 1971.    
     Your apartment is probably rent-stabilized if your building 
contains six or more apartments and 1) was built between 1947 and 
1973; or 2) was built before 1947 and you moved in after June 30, 1971.  
   Generally, controlled tenants have one old lease or no 
lease; stabilized tenants renew leases every one or two years.  Some 
apartments that meet the general criteria for rent regulation are exempt 
due to the rent level of the apartment and the timing of past vacancies. 
    Apartments in buildings constructed after 1973 are not subject 
to regulation unless the owners received assistance under one of two 
city tax benefit programs, J-51 or 421-a, or certain other city or state 
loan programs.  Special rules also apply to buildings owned by non-
profit institutions such as hospitals or colleges.  Certain units may 
also be deregulated because of the rent and the tenant’s income; these 
provisions are explained in detail below.  
 Owners of rent regulated apartments are required to register 
their units with DHCR each year.  If you have questions about your 
apartments status or legal rent, you can call DHCR at 866-275-3427 
and speak to a housing counselor.

How are rent increases determined for rent-stabilized 
and rent-controlled apartments?
   Increases for stabilized apartments are established annually 
by the NYC Rent Guidelines Board whose 9 members are appointed by 
the mayor.  For renewal leases taking effect on or after October 1, 2011 
and on or before September 30, 2012, the guidelines for apartments are: 
3.75% for a one-year lease; and 7.25% for a two-year lease.  
   Increases for controlled apartments are derived from two 
figures: the Maximum Base Rent (MBR), a maximum ceiling for rents, 
and the Maximum Collectible Rent (MCR), the amount an owner can 
actually collect.  New MBRs are computed for each rent-controlled 
apartment in the city every two years.  However, the annual MCR 
increase in most cases cannot exceed 7.5% annually and there are some 
conditions owners must meet in terms of removing violations and 
maintaining the apartment in order to qualify for the increase.

What is a “preferential rent”?  
 Many rent stabilized tenants pay a rent that is less than the 
rent the landlord is legally permitted to charge – this rent is called a 
preferential rent.  In most cases, this rent was negotiated between the 
tenant and the landlord when the tenant first moved in.  In some cases, 
the lower rent was negotiated because the landlord was unable to get 
the legal rent (because of building conditions, size of apartment or 
neighborhood reputation) or because the landlord wanted to do a favor 
for the tenant.  While the law allows a landlord to raise the rent from 
the preferential rent to the legal rent on any lease renewal, certain legal 
conditions must be met.  Tenants who are informed their preferential 
rents are being terminated may want to consult a tenant organization or 
attorney to ensure that their landlords have met the required conditions.

What additional increases can affect regulated 
apartments?
   New Appliances: Your rent can be increased if the owner 
provides you with a new appliance, equipment or service.  But your 
written consent (and an owner’s notification to DHCR, if you are a rent-
controlled tenant) is necessary before such increase goes into effect.  A 
tenant does not have to accept new appliances and pay an increase, 
despite any claims by the owner that only new equipment is available 
for replacements.  In the event that an appliance breaks down, the law 
requires the owner to repair it or replace it with a used or reconditioned 
appliance in good working order.  If a tenant opts for a new appliance, 
an owner is entitled to collect a permanent monthly rent increase equal 
to 1/40th of its cost if the building contains 35 or fewer apartments and 
1/60th of the cost if the building has 36 of more apartments.  Owners are 
also entitled to a 1/40th increase for new equipment or improvements 
in vacant apartments if the building contains 35 or fewer apartments 
and 1/60th of the cost if the building has 36 or more apartments.    
   Major Capital Improvements (MCIs): Eligible MCIs 
must contribute to the operation, maintenance and preservation of the 
building, and directly or indirectly benefit all the tenants.  The most 
common improvements are new roofs, elevators, boilers or windows in 
every apartment.
    Completion of the improvements may entitle the owner to 
increase your rent, subject to approval by DHCR.  DHCR may reject 
MCI applications if owners have failed to maintain all required services 
in the building or there are current “immediately hazardous” violations 
in effect.  DHCR may grant increases conditioned on correction of 
violations within a reasonable time frame.  Improvements paid for 
out of the reserve fund of a cooperative corporation or condominium 
association, unless reimbursed by a special assessment on unit owners, 
and those paid from grants from governmental entities, are not eligible 
for MCIs.   
 MCIs are permanent rent increases to your rent which are 
1/84th of the total cost of the improvement, divided by the total number 
of rooms in your building, and then multiplied by the total number 
of rooms in your apartment. For controlled tenants, MCI increases 
are capped at 15% annually; for stabilized tenants, the ceiling is 6%.  
Because of the delay in processing MCI applications, DHCR has 
been allowing owners of rent-stabilized units to collect an additional 
temporary increase retroactive to the date that the tenants were served 
with the owner’s MCI application.
   When DHCR begins processing an MCI application, tenants 
receive an official notice outlining the work done and the increase 
sought.  Tenants then have 30 days to challenge the application.  Do 
not pay any MCI increase until you have received a copy of the order 
authorizing the increase from DHCR.

How can I check my legal rent?
 The legal rent is the highest rent an owner is allowed to charge 
for a rent stabilized apartment, and is established by the apartment’s 
history of vacancies, lease renewals (set by the Rent Guidelines 
Board and depends on the year), improvements during a tenancy, and 
renovations during vacancy.  Landlords are required to put the legal rent 
on all leases and to register the legal rent with the state housing agency.  
If you believe you may be being charged more than is allowed under 
the law, you can obtain a copy of your apartment’s rent registration 
history by calling the DHCR’s  Office of Rent Administration at  718-
739-6400.  If, after obtaining the rent registration history you believe 
you are being overcharged, you can file a Rent Overcharge complaint 
with DHCR. 

What lease renewal options apply to rent-stabilized 
apartments? 
    Tenants have the right to renew their lease for either a one-
or two-year period at the RGB’s approved renewal rate then in effect, 
under the same terms and conditions as their original lease.  Owners 
must use a lease renewal form promulgated by DHCR.  New tenants 
have the same right to choose a one- or two-year lease.  
 There are some very limited circumstances in which an owner 
can apply to DHCR for permission to deny a rent regulated tenant a 
renewal lease; you should seek advice from tenant advocacy groups 
and/or legal counsel if you learn that your landlord has applied to 
DHCR for permission to refuse a lease renewal. 
   Owners must offer renewal leases between 150 to 90 days 
prior to the expiration of the tenant’s lease, or state the reason why 
they are not renewing the lease.  If you don’t receive a timely renewal 
notification, remind the owner of his or her obligation in a certified 
letter, return receipt requested.  If no renewal is forthcoming, file an 
Owner’s Failure to Renew Lease complaint with DHCR and sit tight.  
Until you receive a renewal lease, your current lease remains in effect.
Please keep in mind that a tenant’s failure to respond within 60 days of 
the offering of a new lease may lead to eviction proceedings.



What is “luxury decontrol?”
 Apartments renting for $2,500 or more are deregulated when 
the occupants have an adjusted gross income of $200,000 or greater 
for the previous two years consecutively.  In order to apply to DHCR 
for a deregulation order, the owner must send the tenant an “Income 
Certification Form,” by May 1 of each year.  If the tenant refuses to 
return the form, or if the owner disputes the information that the tenant 
submitted, the owner can file a Petition for Deregulation, and DHCR 
will then attempt to obtain the income information from the tenant.  If 
the tenant either shows an income of over $200,000 or fails to return the 
form within 30 days, DHCR can issue a decontrol/destabilization order.

What about security deposits?      
   Owners are entitled to collect a security deposit limited to one 
month’s rent from regulated tenants.  Security deposits for free-market 
apartments are not limited.  
   Owners of buildings with six or more apartments must place 
your security deposit in a separate interest-bearing account and inform 
you of the bank’s name.  You may request that the landlord either pay you 
the interest annually (minus a 1% administration fee), apply it towards 
the rent, or pay it to you in a lump sum when you move.  Complaints 
regarding failure to comply with these security deposit regulations can 
be filed with the State Attorney General’s Office (800-771-7755).

What are my rights to sublet my apartment?
   Unless greater rights are allowed in their lease, rent-stabilized 
tenants have the right to sublet their apartments for two years out of 
any four-year period subject to the owner’s consent, which cannot be 
unreasonably withheld.  Rent-controlled tenants have no legal right to 
sublet their apartments.  
   A tenant may sublet an apartment if the owner unreasonably 
withholds consent or fails to respond to a sublet request.  A tenant cannot 
sublet if the owner reasonably withholds consent.  A “reasonable” 
objection may, for example, be based on the past rental history of the 
prospective subtenant.
   If the apartment is furnished, rent charged to a subtenant 
cannot exceed the legal rent plus up to a 10% surcharge, payable to the 
tenant.  The owner is also entitled to collect an additional 10% under 
this year’s guidelines for sublet apartments.  If the tenant overcharges a 
subtenant, the tenant may be liable to the subtenant for treble damages.  
The sublet term may exceed the term of the lease, provided the prime 
tenant renews the lease.  Tenants must continue to maintain their 
apartments as their primary residences, and must intend to re-occupy 
them as such.  

Am I allowed to move out of my apartment before the 
lease is up?
   Only senior citizens over age 62 who have been accepted for 
residency in certain adult care facilities or designated senior housing 
can terminate a lease without penalty upon 30 days’ notice to the owner 
in the manner outlined in the statute.  For all other renters, a lease is 
a legally binding contract and tenants may be held liable for the rent 
for the balance of the lease term if an owner brings an action in court.  
However, many owners are pleased about a tenant leaving before 
the lease is up since it may mean additional rent increases through a 
vacancy lease or apartment improvements.  The best bet is to discuss 
the situation with the owner well in advance of the time you want to 
move out.

Can the owner enter my apartment?
   Owners must have access to your apartment in an emergency 
which might result in damage to the building or other apartments, such 
as a broken water pipe or gas leak.  Owners are also permitted to enter 
apartments with reasonable notice to inspect and make needed repairs.  
Tenants may install an additional lock but must provide the landlord a 
duplicate key if one is requested.  Failure to grant reasonable access can 
be grounds for eviction.

May I have a roommate?
   Provided a tenant continues to occupy the apartment as their 
primary residence, each tenant named on a lease has the right to have one 
unrelated roommate and that roommate’s dependent children reside with 
them.  Immediate family members of the named tenant do not count as 
roommates. Tenants who take in a roommate are required to notify the 
owner or respond to a request from the owner about who is living in the 
apartment within 30 days of a formal request for such information.
 An owner can begin eviction proceedings against a tenant for 
charging their roommate more than a proportionate share of the rent 
and the subtenant can collect treble damages from the prime tenant.  If 
the tenant named in the lease moves out, the remaining occupant has no 
right to the apartment without the owner’s consent.

May I keep pets in my apartment?
   If your lease specifically permits pets or is silent on the issue, 
then you may have pets.  Lease clauses banning pets are binding.  
However, “no-pet” clauses are void if owners don’t act to enforce them 
within three months of the time the tenant began openly keeping a pet.

May I install my own appliances?
 Tenants must return their apartments to their landlords in the 
same condition in which they were rented (with the exception of normal 
wear and tear).  Tenants may not remove any appliances installed by 
the apartment owner without first receiving written permission from 
their landlords.  In many cases, making permanent physical changes to 
a unit without permission can be grounds for eviction.

Can I be evicted?
 The laws governing eviction are quite complex and are 
different for each type of housing.  If you are facing eviction you are 
strongly advised to seek legal counsel.  Under New York City law, 
anyone who has lived in a home for 30 days or longer (regardless of 
the type of unit) can only be legally evicted if the owner has filed an 
eviction case in Housing Court and obtained a judgment of possession 
from the court.  You can find out more about your rights and options 
in Housing Court from a nonprofit organization called Housing Court 
Answers at http://www.cwtfhc.org/.  An owner who attempts to evict a 
tenant without first obtaining an order from a Housing Court judge is 
committing a criminal offense and should be immediately reported to 
the police.  
 While there are some exceptions, if you are a rent regulated 
tenant you can only be evicted if you fail to pay your rent, do not use the 
apartment as your primary residence, or violate a substantial obligation 
of your tenancy.  If you are a market rate tenant you cannot be evicted 
until the expiration of your lease unless you fail to pay your rent or 
violate a substantial obligation of your lease.  

Who is eligible for the Senior Citizen Rent Increase 
Exemption (SCRIE) program?
   The SCRIE program freezes rents for eligible tenants and 
provides a tax abatement for the owner in return.  To be eligible for a 
SCRIE, you must be 62 years of age or older, live in a rent-regulated 
apartment, have a household income (after taxes) of $29,000 or less and 
be paying more than one-third of your income for rent.  You must apply 
for a SCRIE and recertify your eligibility every two years.  Tenants 
who experience a permanent decrease in income of more than 20% 
can apply to have their benefits recalculated.  To obtain an application, 
you can either call 311, download one from the NYC Department of 
Finance website, or contact my office.
  Figures show that only a fraction of eligible recipients are 
receiving the SCRIE benefits to which they are entitled.  If you or 
someone you know may be eligible for SCRIE, please call or pick up 
an application in my office or call 311 to get one from the Department 
of Finance.

Who is eligible for the Disabled Rent Increase 
Exemption Program (DRIE)
 The DRIE program freezes the rents of disabled people living 
in rent-regulated apartments or Mitchell Lama buildings and provides 
a tax abatement for the owners.  Households that are eligible include 
those receiving Social Security Disability, Supplemental Security 
Income, Veteran’s pensions or compensation, and those enrolled in 
the Medicaid Buy-In Program. DRIE is designed to work in the same 
way as SCRIE except that it has lower income limits. The eligibility 
limit for DRIE varies by household size and source of income but in 
general the income limit for single individuals is $19,284 and $27,780 
for couples. However, there are certain deductions that will be allowed. 
To obtain an application, you can either call 311, download one from 
the NYC Department of Finance website, or contact my office.

What about “free market” apartments?
    Rental apartments not subject to the rent stabilization or rent 
control laws are known as “free market” apartments.  Rents for free market 
apartments are negotiated.  The lease the parties sign dictates the terms of 
the tenancy.  Tenants should carefully review such leases before signing, 
particularly with regard to the tenant’s taking occupancy, obligations, 
security deposits, use of parking spaces or other building facilities, 
improvements to be made to the apartment prior to the tenant taking 
occupancy, ongoing maintenance and late charges.  Owners of free market 
apartments are not required to offer tenants renewal leases.  There are no 
limits on rent increases.  Despite the exemption from rent regulation, there 
are a number of laws which apply to all owner/tenant relationships, such 
as the Warranty of Habitability, the NYC Housing and Maintenance Code, 
the Multiple Dwelling Law and the Roommate Law.



 The rights of condominium owners and co-op shareholders 
are derived from a complex set of laws, regulations and individual 
building by-laws and other corporate documents.  Offerings of 
condominiums and cooperatives are regulated by the Attorney General 
under the General Business Law (GBL), a statute designed to protect 
potential buyers from fraud through detailed disclosure requirements.  
Once cooperative and condominium plans are declared effective, 
condominiums fall under the NYS Condominium Act and cooperatives 
fall under the state’s Business Corporation Law – the same statute that 
regulates the state’s major corporations.
    Although both of these statutes grant owners and shareholders 
some rights, their primary purpose is to require that co-ops and condos 
simply address certain issues in their operating documents:  for co-ops, 
the proprietary lease, house rules, Certificate of Incorporation and by-
laws; for condos, the Unit Deed or Declaration, house rules and by-laws 
of the condominium association.
   Among the rights of shareholders and condominium owners 
under various state and city laws, are:

• the right to “quiet enjoyment” and peaceful use of the apartment 
and all public areas and facilities within the co-op or condominium;

• the right to expect that common areas will be maintained in proper 
condition, as required under the Real Property Law’s “Warranty 
of Habitability;”

• the right to receive all services and use all common facilities 
available to all other owners in a non-discriminatory manner;

• the right to be charged only the approximate proportionate share of 
the expenses of the co-op or condominium;

• the right to a list of all shareholders in the co-op corporation;
• the right to participate in an annual meeting of all shareholders or 

unit owners and to receive timely notice of the annual meeting or 
any special meetings;

• the right to inspect the minutes of all shareholders’ or condominium 
association meetings;

• the right to receive an annual financial statement;
• the right to vote to amend the Proprietary Lease, Certification of 

Incorporation, Declaration of Condominium or Bylaws;
• the right to be counted in elections proportionate to units or 

shares owned.
   
 Despite these rights, shareholders and condominium owners 
who are treated unfairly and arbitrarily by their board have found that the 
deck is often stacked against them when they seek changes, particularly 
when the board is still controlled by the sponsor.  You can find additional 
information about how to deal with problems involving condominium 
and co-op boards on the NY State Attorney General’s website at http://
www.ag.ny.gov/bureaus/real_estate_finance/resource_center.html.  

PROPERTY TAX 
EXEMPTION PROGRAMS

 New York State residents who are homeowners qualify for 
the Basic School Tax Relief (STAR) program regardless of age if their 
annual adjusted gross income is $500,000 or less and the property is 
their primary residence (meaning they live in the home for more than 
six months each year).  STAR provides savings of approximately $200 
a year.  Residents 65 and older who qualify for Basic STAR and have an 
annual household income less than $79,050 are eligible for Enhanced 
STAR.  Enhanced STAR provides average yearly savings of $400.  

 The Senior Citizen Homeowner’s Exemption (SCHE) is a 
partial real property tax exemption available for property owners, aged 
65 years or older with an annual adjusted gross income below $37,400, 
and who reside in residential properties including one-, two-, or three-
family homes, condominium units, or cooperative apartments. 

Email: lkrueger@senate.state.ny.us  |  Web: krueger.nysenate.gov

      Senator
Liz Krueger

District Office
211 East 43rd Street, Suite 401
New York, NY 10017
Tel:   (212) 490-9535

Albany Office
609 Legislative Office Building
Albany, New York 12247
Tel:   (518) 455-2297 

THE RIGHTS OF 
CO-OP SHAREHOLDERS AND 

CONDOMINIUM OWNERS

 Note:  Applicants who qualify for SCHE automatically are 
eligible for the Enhanced STAR exemption.  Individuals who file for 
SCHE do not have to file a separate application for STAR.

 The Disabled Homeowners Exemption (DHE) provides 
a partial real property tax exemption for property owners who have a 
medically certifiable disability, an annual income below $37,400, and 
who own and reside in a one-, two- or three-family home, condominium 
or co-op.  

 The Veterans Tax Exemption is a partial property tax 
exemption for property owners who served in the U.S. armed forced 
in World War I, World War II, Korean, Vietnam, or the Gulf War.  The 
spouses, registered domestic partners, parents of those service members 
killed in action in any of the wars listed above, and the unmarried 
surviving spouses of eligible veterans may also receive the exemption.  
Legislation is currently pending to expand this benefit to veterans of the 
wars in Iraq and Afghanistan.  
 
 All of these tax exemption programs are administered by 
the NYC Department of Finance, and are applied for using a single 
application.  For more information regarding any of these programs, or 
to receive an application, you may contact my office at (212) 490-9535,  
call 311, or download one from the Department of Finance website at 
http://www.nyc.gov/html/dof/html/pdf/property/exemption_abatement.
pdf.  Eligible property owners must submit their applications by March 
15th in order to qualify to have the benefits reflected in their next annual 
real estate tax bill.

Important Housing Phone 
Numbers and Websites

You may file complaints regarding a wide range of building prob-
lems (such as heat, hot water, elevators, noise, garbage, building 
safety, asbestos, illegal construction) by calling 311.  An inspec-
tor from the appropriate city agency will then further investigate 
the situation.  Be sure to make a note of your complaint number 
so you can monitor the status of the investigation.

NYS DHCR…...................……….............……http://nysdhcr.gov/Rent/ 
NYC HPD….......................................http://www.nyc.gov/html/hpd/
html/home/home.shtml
NYS Attorney General……….....................……http://www.ag.ny.gov/
NYC Rent Guidelines Board.............…http://www.housingnyc.com
Metropolitan Council on Housing.......http://www.metcouncil.net/
Tenants and Neighbors…....http://www.tenantsandneighbors.org/
Housing Court Answers……...................……http://www.cwtfhc.org/
Alliance of Coop and 
Condo Owners...................................http://condocoopowners.org/
Law Help……………......................…….… http://www.lawhelp.org/NY/
Council on NY Cooperatives 
& Condominiums........................................…http://www.cnyc.com/

Community groups that can also 
help with housing problems:

Metropolitan Council on Housing…..........................(212) 979-0611
NYS Tenants and Neighbors……........................…..(212) 608-4320
Housing Court Answers…..………...........................…(212) 962-4795
..

Sources of legal assistance for 
eligible, low-income renters:

Manhattan Legal Services……….…..........................(646) 442-3100
Legal Aid Society………………...............................…… (212) 577-3300
EIS: Housing Resource Center…….......................….(212) 308-2210  
NYC Bar Association Legal Hotline…......................(212) 626-7383
Lenox Hill Neighborhood House…........................…(212) 744-5022
MFY Legal Services………….................................……..(212) 417-3812
Manhattan Legal Aid for Seniors Project................(212) 417-3880


