
Dear Friend:

Our state is home to many picturesque road-
ways lined with natural beauty and priceless views,
such as those along the Hudson River, the Catskill
Mountains, and the Adirondacks. The luxury of
owning a vehicle allows us to take advantage of
New York’s scenic drives, and every weekend many
people load up their car, truck or motorcycle to take

advantage of a few hours on the open road.

But along with the freedom and pleasure that driving can bring
comes responsibilty — for your own safety, the safety of your passen-
gers, and other motorists sharing the road.

To make your life a little easier, I’ve prepared this brochure which
outlines useful information on the State’s Motor Vehicle laws, con-
sumer rights surrounding purchasing a vehicle, safety tips for older
drivers, facts about the recent law regarding cell phone use while
driving, and other useful information about operating your vehicle.

I hope you find this compilation helpful. As always, if you have
any questions or if I can be of any assistance to you, please do not
hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Senator Suzi Oppenheimer

Rules of the Road
Here’s a sampling of motor

vehicle laws that all New York
drivers should know about

Drive 65 — Here and There:
New York law permits motorists to drive

65 miles per hour, instead of 55, on parts of
several major roadways in the State. The law
made New York the 46th state to raise its
maximum speed limit to 65, and applies to
a number of major highways, including
much of the New York State Thruway (I-87
& I-90) and the Adirondack Northway (I-87).

Running Red Light Is
a Costly Mistake:

Those who habitually race red lights —
and lose — will need to reach deep into their
pockets to satisfy stiff fines. In addition, they
may also have to spend some time behind
bars.

Lights On, Lower Premiums:
If you drive a car with daytime running

lamps — headlights that come on every time
you start the vehicle — you may be eligible
for a break on your auto insurance pre-
mium. The headlights must be factory in-
stalled, and the premium reduction only
applies to non-commercial policies.

Different Rates for
Different Drivers:

A multi-tier program for motor vehicle
insurance allows insurers to offer a series
of different basic rates to motorists based
on their driving records. This is intended to
offer greater options for motorists, permit-
ting participating insurers to provide cov-
erage for both good drivers and those with
spotty records who might otherwise be
forced to seek insurance in the expensive
assigned risk market.

Carjacking Penalties Steep:
To provide strict punishments for crimes

in which motor vehicles are forcibly stolen,
often with violence while a driver is behind
the wheel, a state law permits specific pen-
alties for so-called “carjacking” offenses. Un-
der the law, carjacking is a second-degree
robbery, a class “C” felony carrying a maxi-
mum sentence of up to 15 years in prison.

School Buses and Traffic Safety

Penalties for Passing
a Stopped School Bus

By Minimum Maximum Possible
Conviction Fine Fine Imprisonment

1st Conviction $250.00 $400.00 Up to 30 days

2nd Conviction $600.00 $750.00 Up to 180 days
(within 3 years)

3rd or Subsequent $750.00 $850.00 Up to 180 days
 Convictions

(within 3 years)

According to estimates by
the New York State Department
of Motor Vehicles, 50,000 cars
and trucks illegally pass school
buses every day. In the last 4
years, 35 students were hit by
New York State motorists passing
stopped school buses.

REMEMBER — If the bus’ red
lights are flashing, YOUYOUYOUYOUYOU
MUST STOP.MUST STOP.MUST STOP.MUST STOP.MUST STOP.  It’s the law!It’s the law!It’s the law!It’s the law!It’s the law!



What you should know
about Graduated Licensing

All teenagers are eager to receive their licenses and
the freedom that goes along with it. These days they
have more resources at their disposal than ever before,
such as driver’s education courses available in almost
every community. But along with this privilege comes
much responsibility and strict regulations. Graduated
licensing is a law that affects drivers under the age of
18, and details the rights and restrictions related to driv-
ers between the ages of 16 and 18.

New York’s graduated licensing law was imple-
mented on September 1, 2003. This law affects drivers
under the age of 18, who are known as “junior driv-
ers,” receiving their senior driving privileges, and the
law changes some of the restrictions on junior drivers.

The rules for junior drivers are simple—they can-
not operate a vehicle that has more than two passen-
gers who are under the age of 21, unless a parent,
guardian, or driving instructor also rides in the vehicle,
or if the passengers are immediate family members. In
addition, the supervising driver, who must be over the
age of 21, has to ride in the front passenger seat. Some
additional rules for junior drivers are as follows:

For junior drivers who were issued learner per-
mits on or after September 1, 2003, a completed certi-
fication of 20 hours of supervised driving must be
brought to the road test. This form certifies that the
junior driver has had a minimum of 20 hours of super-
vised driving experience.

When a junior driver passes a road test more
than 6 months after s/he has received his/her learner
permit, s/he will be issued a normal junior license. If it
has been less than 6 months, s/he will be issued a lim-
ited-use junior license.

The limited-use junior license allows the driver
to drive without supervision during specific hours of
the day and within specific geographical boundaries.
The driver must be supervised at all times. Six months
after the date of the learner permit was issued, the DMV
will replace the limited-use license with a normal jun-
ior license.

Drivers holding a junior license specifically in
Westchester County may drive alone between 5 am
and 9 pm. After 9 pm a junior licensed driver may
only drive without supervision if s/he is traveling
between home and employment, or to and from a
school course.

Driving Do’s & Don’ts
Do... Remember, that air bags and children
do not mix.  Buckle all children up whether
they use child safety seats or the vehicle’s seat
belts. Children under the age of 12 should ride
in the safest place in the car — the back seat.

Do... Make sure that you and your front-
seat passengers wear seat belts whenever the
car is in motion. Failure to buckle up could not
only jeopardize your safety, but your wallet as
well.

Do... Use a child safety seat to protect your
young ones when they’re riding with you in
the car. Remember to buckle up youngsters
under 16 if they’re back-seat passengers.

Do... Obey state law by turning on your
headlights in rain, snow, and other inclement
weather. Your visibility will be improved, and
just as important, other drivers will be able to
see you.

Do... Make sure that all of your lights, turn
signals, and your automobile horn are in
proper working order. To avoid accidents and
traffic tickets, be aware that other drivers need
to be able to see you, hear you and know
where you’re going.

Don’t... Park in a spot reserved for the
disabled when you aren’t eligible to use it —
not even for a minute. Illegally using a spot
designated as parking for the disabled is cruel,
and could subject you to a hefty fine (up to
$75 for a first offense).

Don’t... Drive under the influence of al-
cohol or drugs. You could hurt yourself and
others, and depending on your offense, you
could be charged a steep fine, lose your li-
cense, or do time in jail. Wouldn’t it be better
to call a taxi or a friend for that ride home?

Don’t... Fail to yield the right of way to
emergency vehicles. That fire truck could be
rushing to your house, and that ambulance
might be taking someone you care about to
the hospital.

Riding without a seat belt carries a fine up to $50, and $100 if a motorist
is stopped for having a person less than 16 years old unrestrained.

Don’ts

Do’s



Do You Talk & Drive?
If you answered “yes,” you may be putting yourself, your passengers, and other drivers at risk for

automobile accidents.  On June 28, 2001, On June 28, 2001, On June 28, 2001, On June 28, 2001, On June 28, 2001, an addition to New York State’s traffic law was passed that
reads, “no person shall operate a motor vehicle upon a public highway while using a mobile tele-no person shall operate a motor vehicle upon a public highway while using a mobile tele-no person shall operate a motor vehicle upon a public highway while using a mobile tele-no person shall operate a motor vehicle upon a public highway while using a mobile tele-no person shall operate a motor vehicle upon a public highway while using a mobile tele-
phone while such vehicle is in motion.”  phone while such vehicle is in motion.”  phone while such vehicle is in motion.”  phone while such vehicle is in motion.”  phone while such vehicle is in motion.”  The law — which became effective December 1, 2001effective December 1, 2001effective December 1, 2001effective December 1, 2001effective December 1, 2001 — was
enacted to reduce the occurrence of motor vehicle accidents caused by distracted driving.  Failure to
abide by the law will result in a $100 fine.$100 fine.$100 fine.$100 fine.$100 fine.

While hands-free mobile phones are acceptable to use while driving, motorists are encouraged to
refrain from making and receiving calls in difficult and busy traffic conditions.

If you are reporting an accident or another emergency situation on a mobile phone while driving,
no violation occurs under this law.

Indicators of Unsafe Driving
by an Individual:

Doesn’t obey traffic signals

Drives well below the speed limit

Gets lost in familiar areas on a
regular basis

Drives aggressively or stops
inappropriately

Doesn’t pay attention to other vehicles,
bicyclists, pedestrians or road hazards

Has trouble staying in designated lane

Has been ticketed frequently or been
involved in numerous fender benders

If you or an older person you care about
demonstrates more than one of these
behaviors, you — or they — may want to
either consider arranging alternate trans-
portation or utilizing public transportation.

Tips for Older Drivers:
Enroll in an AARP 55 Alive/Mature Driving Program, which is an
accident prevention program specifically geared toward older driv-
ers.

Check that your vehicle, or the vehicle you are purchasing, has
automatic transmission, power brakes and steering, and air bags.

Position your seat so that you are sitting 10 inches from the steering
wheel in order to prevent being injured if your air bag is deployed
during an accident.

If you have a physical disability, you can purchase equipment to
accommodate your physical limitations.  These include:

Seat belt adapters

Full view inside mirrors and side “spot” mirrors

Brighter and extra loud turn signals

Left foot accelerator if limited/no use of right foot

Scooter and wheel chair loading devices

Keyless ignition

For information about AARP’s 55 Alive Driving Program,
call 1-888-227-7669 or vist the AARP website at www.aarp.org/

Safety Concerns and Tips
for Older Drivers

With the number of elderly drivers increasing in recent years,
many people have begun to worry that seniors who drive may pose
a safety risk to themselves and their passengers, as well as to pedes-
trians and the occupants of other cars on the road.  In fact, age alone
is not an accurate indicator of a person’s ability or inability to oper-
ate a motor vehicle.

More importantly, you or the older driver you care about should
pay close attention to health conditions, prescription drug combina-
tions, and physical limitations that could hinder a person’s ability to
drive safely.  Below are some possible safety concerns that you should
be aware of, as well as some tips for older drivers.



A Glaring Concern
Glare can cause fatigue and stress, making driving

more difficult, and increasing your chances of an
accident.

Here are a few tips to help you minimize the effects
of glare while you are driving:*

If the headlights from oncoming cars are too bright,
keep your eyes straight ahead, or look slightly to the
right.

Adjust your side mirrors to properly minimize glare
from cars behind you.

Make sure all the glass on your vehicle (headlights,
windshield, windows, and mirrors) is clean! Dirty
glass surfaces help to create glare.

Make sure that your headlights are aimed correctly
(and clean); do not use fog lights if there is no fog
present.

If you wear eyeglasses or contact lenses, ALWAYS
wear them when driving.  Make sure they are clean
and free of scratches.  Antireflective materials (such
as zircon and silicon) also help reduce glare.

* (compiled from Westways Magazine archives).
D 5-05

Important Informational
Websites & Toll-Free
Telephone Numbers:

NYS Senior Citizens’ Hot Line ...............1-800-342-9871

NYS Consumer Protection Board .......1-800-697-1220

NYS Police Emergency ...................................................911

Deaf/Hearing Impaired (Voice & TDD)
........................................................................ 1-800-342-4357

NYS Dept. of Transportation ...... www.dot.state.ny.us

Senior Drivers Info. .................... www.seniordrivers.org

Road Conditions & Construction Updates
.................................. 1-800-THRUWAY (1-800-847-8929)

Suspected Drunk Driver .................................................911
.................................. 1-800-CURB DWI (1-800-287-2394)

Senator
Suzi Oppenheimer

District Office District Office District Office District Office District Office • 222 Grace Church Street, 3rd Floor, Port Chester, NY 10573 • (914) 934-5250

Albany Office Albany Office Albany Office Albany Office Albany Office • 515 Legislative Office Building, Albany, NY 12247 • (518) 455-2031

Driving Rights
and

Responsibilities

See Inside for Important Information
for New York State Drivers
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