





Congressmembers: Yvette D. Clarke, Hakeem Jeffries, Carolyn B. Maloney, Jerrold Nadler, Nydia M. Velázquez.

State Senators: Daniel Squadron, Martin Malavé Dilan, Michael Gianaris, Jesse E. Hamilton, Brad Hoylman, Liz Krueger, Kevin Parker, Roxanne J. Persaud. Assemblymembers: Maritza Davila, Deborah J. Glick, Richard Gottfried, Brian Kavanagh, Joseph R. Lentol, Michael Miller, Nick Perry, Latrice M. Walker.

New York City Comptroller: Scott M. Stringer. Borough Presidents: Gale A. Brewer, Eric L. Adams. City Councilmembers: Inez Barron, Elizabeth Crowley, Rafael L. Espinal, Daniel R. Garodnick, Corey Johnson, Stephen T. Levin, Alan Maisel, Rosie Mendez, Antonio Reynoso.

July 26, 2016

The Honorable Andrew M. Cuomo Governor of New York State New York State Capitol Building Albany, NY 12224

The Honorable Bill de Blasio Mayor of New York City City Hall New York, NY 10007

Thomas F. Prendergast Chair and CEO, Metropolitan Transportation Authority 2 Broadway New York, NY 10004

Dear Governor Cuomo, Mayor de Blasio, and Chair Prendergast:

We write to request the creation of an interagency working group to mitigate the impact of the 18 month closure of the L train Canarsie tubes, in January 2019, which was announced yesterday. As you know, the L train is a transit lifeline for many of the communities we represent. According to the Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA), more than 225,000 people travel from Brooklyn to Manhattan through the Canarsie tubes on weekdays, and weekend ridership has grown by more than 60% since 2010 at some stations. In addition, the L Train is a vital crosstown connection for commuters within Manhattan.

We thank the MTA for its robust public engagement on the repairs. It is clear that mitigating the impacts of the closure requires bold action within and outside the MTA system. Implementing mitigations will require significant interagency coordination. For example, the City's Department of Transportation (DOT) would be involved in proposals that include Select Bus Service and dedicated bus lanes; seamless integration may also require State DOT action. Similarly, the City's Economic Development Corporation would need to be involved in proposals for new and increased ferry service. The City's Department of Small Business Services and the State's Empire State Development Corporation could provide assistance to impacted businesses.

A working group should be convened to facilitate collaboration and planning among relevant agencies. It would also serve as a forum for the community and advocates,

including the L Train Coalition, to submit ideas and proposals and ensure they receive consideration. City, State, and Federal agencies should play a role in the working group.

At a minimum, we would like the following agencies to be included in the working group, working with us and the local community boards, advocates and other coalition stakeholders.

- Empire State Development Corporation
- Metropolitan Transportation Authority
- New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
- New York State Department of Labor
- New York State Department of Taxation and Finance
- New York State Department of Transportation
- Statewide Small Business Outreach Initiative
- New York City Economic Development Corporation
- New York City Department of Consumer Affairs
- New York City Department of Environmental Protection
- New York City Department of Small Business Services
- New York City Department of Transportation
- New York City Police Department
- New York City Taxi and Limousine Commission
- New York City Mayor's Office for People With Disabilities
- United States Army Corps of Engineers

We welcome the participation of other agencies as well. Thank you for your consideration of this important matter.

Sincerely,

Daniel Squadron State Senate

Yvette D. Clarke Congresswoman

l Nalle

Jerrold Nadler Congressman

Hakeem Jeffries Congressmember

Nydia M. Velázquez Congresswoman

Carolyn B. Malore

Carolyn B. Maloney Congressmember

Scott M. Stringer New York City Comptroller

fal U. DRIVER

Gale A. Brewer Borough President

mitar Granam

Michael Gianaris State Senator

Liz Kruepe

Liz Krueger State Senator

Mantza I

Maritza Davila Assemblymember

Brian Kavanagh Assemblymember



Nick Perry Assemblymember

Elizabeth Crowley City Councilmember

Corey Johnson City Councilmember

Rosie Mendez City Councilmember

Ehi Z Adams

Eric L. Adams Borough President

E Jamitto ene

Jesse E. Hamilton State Senator

Xein Pahan

Kevin Parker State Senator

Deharah J. Jul

Deborah J. Glick Assemblymember

ph R. Lentol

Joseph R. Lentol Assemblymember

Latrice M. Walker Assemblymember

MLST

Rafael L. Espinal City Councilmember

Stephen T. Levin City Councilmember

Antonio Reynoso City Councilmember

Murtin Pfeller Defer

Martin Malavé Dilan State Senator

Brod Hogeman

Brad Hoylman State Senator

Koran Blessand

Roxanne J. Persaud State Senator

Richard Gottfried Assemblymember

Michael Miller Assemblymember

They D. Barrow

Inez D. Barron City Councilmember

Janel R. Sound 2

Daniel R. Garodnick City Councilmember

Massel

Alan Maisel City Councilmember

CC:

Howard Zemsky, President & CEO, Empire State Development Basil Seggos, Commissioner, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation Roberta Reardon, Commissioner, New York State Department of Labor Jerry Boone, Commissioner, New York State Department of Taxation and Finance Matthew J. Driscoll, Commissioner, New York State Department of Transportation Maria Torres-Springer, President and CEO, New York City Economic Development Corporation Lorelei Salas, Commissioner, New York City Department of Consumer Affairs Vincent Sapienza, Acting Commissioner, New York City Department of Environmental Protection Gregg Bishop, Commissioner, New York City Department of Small Business Services Polly Trottenberg, Commissioner, New York City Department of Transportation William J. Bratton, Commissioner, New York City Police Department Meera Joshi, Chair and CEO, New York City Taxi and Limousine Commission Victor Calise, Commissioner, New York City Mayor's Office for People With Disabilities Stephan A. Ryba, Chief, Regulatory Branch, United States Army Corps of Engineers, New York District Board of the MTA Brooklyn Community Board 1, 4, 5, 16, 18 Manhattan Community Board 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Queens Community Board 5