
BE INVOLVED WITH YOUR 
CHILD’S EDUCATION
One of the best ways to get involved 
with your child’s school is to join the 
Parent-Teacher Association. To � nd out 
more information, talk to your child’s 
teacher or visit the PTA on-line at 
www.nyspta.org.
 Read to your children at home 

every night, and encourage them 
to read to you. Ask about the Par-
ents As Reading Partners (PARP) 
Program to � nd out if your child’s 
school participates.

 Acknowledge and reward children for 
their successes and accomplishments.

 Get to know their teachers and 
their daily schedule.

 Be a part of their nightly home-
work; help where you can and be 
encouraging.

 Look into your child’s after school 
programs and activities.

If you have any questions regarding the 
education system in New York State, 
or concerns regarding your School 
Board, contact the State Education 
Department at (518) 474-3852 or visit 
them on-line at www.nysed.gov.

PENALTIES FOR 
PASSING A STOPPED 
SCHOOL BUS
There are many good reasons for stopping when a school bus is 
� ashing its red lights—including avoiding stiff � nes or possible 
jail sentences. But the best reason is that using caution near 
stopped school buses can help protect the safety of our children.

Drivers should slow down when they see a school bus with 
� ashing yellow lights. State law requires drivers to stop when 
the red lights on a school bus are � ashing, even if the bus is in 
the parking lot of a school. If the school bus driver waves you 
on, it is safe to proceed.

When going in the opposite direction, drivers should stop 
at least 20 feet from a school bus to allow children to cross the 
road safely. Drivers who fail to stop when a school bus has its 
red lights on face costly penalties and can even land in jail.
 A fi rst conviction carries a fi ne of between $250 and 

$400, a jail sentence of up to 30 days, or both.
 A second conviction within three years carries an in-

creased fi ne of between $600 and $750, a jail sentence 
of up to 180 days, or both.

 A third or subsequent conviction within three years car-
ries penalties that include a fi ne of between $750 and 
$1,000, a jail sentence of up to 180 days, or both.

Drivers should remember that a conviction for passing a stopped 
school bus is a moving traf� c violation that adds points to your 
license, can increase your insurance costs and may even jeopar-
dize your driving privileges.
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PARENTS: WATCH FOR SIGNS 
OF BULLYING
Studies indicate that bullying can severely disrupt a student’s ability to learn and socialize at school. Only 
recently, however, has the problem of bullying gained national attention as a serious social issue. To 
address this growing concern, the State Senate introduced the Dignity for All Students Act, legislation 
that prohibits discrimination and harassment in New York schools while providing guidelines for the 
handling of such cases.

Specifically, the bill:

 Directs school districts to develop 
procedures which create a school 
environment free of discrimination 
and harassment.

  Establishes guidelines for the 
training of school personnel.

  Establishes guidelines for develop-
ment of nondiscriminatory instruc-
tional and counseling methods and 
requires that at least one member 
of each school staff be trained to 
handle human relations in each of 
the areas mentioned above.

  Along with staff, provides advice and directs services consistent with 
the guidelines set forth here, in order to help districts prevent discrimination and harassment.

  Along with the State Education Department, provides grants from funds appropriated for such 
purpose, to local school districts to assist them in implementing the guidelines set forth in this section.

DO YOU KNOW ABOUT THE 529 DIRECT PLAN?

New York’s 529 College Savings Program offers New Yorkers the chance to place tax-
free and tax-deductible investments into an account that can be used to pay for tuition, 
room and board, fees, books, and supplies at any eligible post-secondary school in the 
U.S. and abroad.

For more information, contact my of� ce to request a copy of the brochure, “Helping 
New Yorkers Pay for College.” Or you can contact the plan directly
at www.nysaves.org or call 1-877-NYSAVES (1-877-697-2837).

environment free of discrimination 

Along with staff, provides advice and directs services consistent with 
the guidelines set forth here, in order to help districts prevent discrimination and harassment.
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HEAVY BACKPACKS CAN 
POSE A HEALTH RISK TO 
YOUR CHILD
The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) 
recommends that parents look for the following 
when choosing the right backpack.
 A lightweight pack that doesn’t add a lot of 

weight to your child’s load. For example, even 
though leather packs look cool, they weigh 
more than traditional canvas backpacks.

 Two wide, padded shoulder straps: 
straps that are too narrow can dig into shoul-
ders.

  A padded back which not only provides in-
creased comfort, but also protects kids from 
being poked by sharp edges on objects (pen-
cils, rulers, notebooks, etc.) inside the pack.

  A waist belt which helps to distribute the 
weight more evenly across the body.

 Multiple compartments which can also 
help distribute the weight more evenly.

Although packs on wheels (which look like small, 
overhead luggage bags) may be good options for 
students, they’re extremely dif� cult to pull up 
stairs and to roll through snow. Check with the 
school before buying a rolling pack; many schools 
don’t allow them because they can pose a tripping 
hazard in the hallways.


