NEW YORK STATE SENATE



NEW YORK STATE ASSEMBLY

## STATE OF NEW YORK ALBANY

March 23, 2015

The Honorable Andrew M. Cuomo Governor of New York State New York State Capitol Building Albany, NY 12224

Dear Governor Cuomo:

We want to first thank you for protecting the health and safety of all New York residents by banning high volume hydraulic fracturing throughout New York State. We ask you to continue this leadership by vetoing a project that could result in more fracking in the region. Liberty Natural Gas, LLC (Liberty), has submitted an application to build a proposed liquefied natural gas (LNG) deepwater port facility, called Port Ambrose, roughly 19 miles from the New York shore. As representatives of the State of New York, we urge you to veto this unnecessary and environmentally irresponsible project.

The construction and operation of Port Ambrose would have a strongly negative ecological impact on its surroundings, discharge millions of gallons of chemically treated seawater and require the dredging of miles of sea floor. Port Ambrose would further aggravate environmental degradation by increasing New York's reliance on natural gas, a methane-emitting fuel. According to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, the leading international body for the assessment of climate change, methane, a dangerous greenhouse gas, is 86 times more effective than carbon dioxide at trapping heat in our atmosphere over a 20-year period. This is, of course, in addition to the potential havoc wrought to New York's coastline if an extreme weather event, such as another Hurricane Sandy, were to damage a vulnerable offshore facility of this type. Moreover, Port Ambrose could pose a grave security risk for New York. According to the Council on Foreign Relations, liquefied natural gas facilities are a potential terrorist target. Any explosion or fire from an LNG facility in the New York harbor would be catastrophic.

This project also has the potential to interfere with the development of a far more environmentally responsible wind farm that has been proposed for this area. The Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, an agency of the U.S. Department of Interior, in its scoping comments on the Port Ambrose application, stated that it is "concerned that the proposal to construct a LNG port in the same area proposed for a large wind facility could result in serious conflicts—or at the minimum, complicating factors—that may impact the overall viability of one or both projects." We and many of our constituents fear that this would not be a worthy tradeoff.

Furthermore, Port Ambrose is an unnecessary project. According to the 2014 Draft New York State Energy Plan, domestic production of natural gas is at its highest level in four decades and the "need for substantial increased volumes of imported LNG has diminished for the near term." The Draft Energy Plan further states that this saturation of supply in natural gas has caused imports to decline every year from 2007 through 2012, a year in which just two of the twelve active LNG import terminals in the country received regular shipments.

As you may be aware, in 2011 New Jersey Governor Chris Christie vetoed an application for an LNG port by Liberty off the coast of New Jersey, stating that "offshore LNG poses unacceptable risks to the state's residents, natural resources, economy and security." We urge you to veto this project and continue to defend New York State's precious environmental assets.

Thank you for your consideration of this matter.

Sincerely,

Brod Hayeman

Brad Hoylman State Senator 27<sup>th</sup> District

Joseph Addabbo State Senator 15<sup>th</sup> District

David Carlucci State Senator 38<sup>th</sup> District

Adriano Espaillat State Senator 31<sup>st</sup> District

linda Kesent

Linda B<sup>'</sup>. Rosenthal Member of Assembly 67<sup>th</sup> District

Thomas Abinanti Member of Assembly 92<sup>nd</sup> District

Michael Benedetto Member of Assembly 82<sup>nd</sup> District

Barbara Clark Member of Assembly 33<sup>rd</sup> District

Todd Kaminsky Member of Assembly 20<sup>th</sup> District

Carmen Arroyo Member of Assembly 84<sup>th</sup> District

Rodneyse Bichotte Member of Assembly 42<sup>nd</sup> District

William Colton Member of Assembly 47<sup>th</sup> District Jesse Hamilton State Senator 20<sup>th</sup> District

Ruth Hassell-Thompson State Senator 36<sup>th</sup> District

Liz Krueger State Senator 28<sup>th</sup> District

Marc Panepinto State Senator 60<sup>th</sup> District

Bill Perkins State Senator 30<sup>th</sup> District

Gustavo Rivera State Senator 33<sup>rd</sup> District

James Sanders State Senator 10<sup>th</sup> District

Michael Miller Member of Assembly 38<sup>th</sup> District

Jose Rivera Member of Assembly 78<sup>th</sup> District

Robert Rodriguez Member of Assembly 68<sup>th</sup> District Vivian Cook Member of Assembly 32<sup>nd</sup> District

Jeffrey Dinowitz Member of Assembly 81<sup>st</sup> District

Deborah Glick Member of Assembly 66<sup>th</sup> District

Andrew Hevesi Member of Assembly 28<sup>th</sup> District

Ellen Jaffee Member of Assembly 9<sup>7th</sup> District

Brian Kavanagh Member of Assembly 74<sup>th</sup> District

Joseph Lentol Member of Assembly 50<sup>th</sup> District

Walter Mosley Member of Assembly 57<sup>th</sup> District

Sam Roberts Member of Assembly 128<sup>th</sup> District

Nily Rozic Member of Assembly 25<sup>th</sup> District Maritza Davila Member of Assembly 53<sup>rd</sup> District

Steve Englebright Member of Assembly 4<sup>th</sup> District

Richard Gottfried Member of Assembly 75<sup>th</sup> District

Earlene Hooper Member of Assembly 18<sup>th</sup> District

Kimberly Jean-Pierre Member of Assembly 11<sup>th</sup> District

Charles Lavine Member of Assembly 13<sup>th</sup> District

Barbara Lifton Member of Assembly 125<sup>th</sup> District

Steven Otis Member of Assembly 91<sup>st</sup> District

Annette Robinson Member of Assembly 56<sup>th</sup> District

William Scarborough Member of Assembly 29<sup>th</sup> District Michelle Schimel Member of Assembly 16<sup>th</sup> District

Frank Skartados Member of Assembly 104<sup>th</sup> District

Fred Thiele, Jr. Member of Assembly 1<sup>st</sup> District

David Weprin Member of Assembly 24<sup>th</sup> District Jo Anne Simon Member of Assembly 52<sup>nd</sup> District

Michaelle Solages Member of Assembly 22<sup>nd</sup> District

Matthew Titone Member of Assembly 61<sup>st</sup> District Aravella Simotas Member of Assembly 36<sup>th</sup> District

Phil Steck Member of Assembly 110<sup>th</sup> District

Michele Titus Member of Assembly 31<sup>st</sup> District