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FOR CHILD SEX ABUSE
VICTIMS CONSIDERING
LEGAL ACTION UNDER A
WINDOW OR REVIVAL LAW




If you are considering filing under a window
or revival law please consider the following:
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Know that you are not alone

See a therapist before consulting a lawyer, and continue
seeing that therapist during the pendency of the lawsuit

Understand that the legal system is a lot of “hurry up and
wait” - It is normal to be asked to produce information
quickly, and then not hear from your lawyer for a while

An attorney cannot be your attorney without your
authorization

Your attorney works for YOU and cannot settle your case
prior to your approval of the monetary amount

Don’t assume that the court system understands your
needs; some officials will have received trauma-informed
training, some will not (see 1 & 2)

Understand that this can be a confusing time not only for
you but everyone around you (see 2 and encourage loved
ones to do the same)

You have been empowered to file a legal action, but it will
take the whole culture to end child sex abuse

The settlement funds you receive are not blood money or
dirty money, this is American justice. You deserve to be
compensated for your harm.
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Talk to a finance professional about how to
protect your settlement



Remember, your state's law is specific to your
state. Each window/revival is different:

SOL Revival Laws - Opening in 2019

(window for set period of time, up to certain age or fully retroactive)

Jurisdiction Date Opens | Date Closes Revival Law Description

Washington D.C. | May 3, 2019 | May 2, 2021 2-year window:
2-year window for expired claims against perpetrators
and private organizations opened on May 3, 2019.
Window applies to all child sex abuse victims up to age
40 and, in some circumstances, older victims and those
sexually assaulted as adults.

Montana May 7,2019 | May 6, 2020 | 1-year window:
1-year window opened on May 7, 2019 for expired
claims against perpetrators and private organizations.

Arizona May 27,2019 | Dec. 31,2020 | 19-month window:
19-month revival window opened on May 27, 2019 for
expired claims against perpetrators and private
organizations and will close on December 31, 2020.

Vermont May 28, 2019 |n/a Revives all expired claims:
Revived all expired claims against perpetrators, private
organizations and government.

Rhode Island July 1,2019 |n/a Revives up to age 53:
Revived SOL up to age 53 against perpetrator only.

New York Aug. 14,2019 | Aug. 13,2020 | 1-year window:
1-year window will open on August 14, 2019 for
expired clams against perpetrators, private
organizations and government.

Connecticut Oct. 1,2019 |n/a Revives up to age 51:
Revives SOL up to age 51 against perpetrators, private
organizations and government. Applies to sex abuse
victims abused while under age 21.

New Jersey Dec. 1,2019 | Nov. 30,2021 | 2-year window:

2-year window will open on December 1, 2019 for
expired claims against perpetrators, private
organizations and government. Window applies to
child sex abuse victims and those sexually assaulted as
adults.
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Not all windows and revival laws are
equally valuable:

Revival window for claims against perpetrator doctors only

Revival window, revival up to a certain age, or revival of all claims,
against perpetrators only or private organizations only

Revival window or revival up to age 30-54, for claims against
perpetrators and private organizations

Revival window for 2 or more years or revival up to age 55, for claims
against perpetrators, private organizations, and government

Revival of all expired claims against perpetrators, private
organizations, and government without a time limitation
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Who is eligible under New York's
Child Victims Act (CVA)?

The NY CVA explained— it will benefit all victims of child sex
abuse in some way:

All children being abused now will have until age 55 to file a civil
suit against the perpetrator and entity, there is no age limit on
felony sex assault for them, and they will have to age 28 for other
criminal charges.

You will benefit from the civil extension to age 55 with capacity to
sue both perpetrator and entity and criminal extension to age 28
for felonies for which the criminal SOL wasn’t eliminated in 2006.

You will benefit from the civil extension to age 55 against the
perpetrator and criminal extension to age 28 for felonies for which
the SOL wasn’t eliminated in 2006.

You cannot file criminal charges unless you can file charges for
felonies starting for abuse in 2006, but you will have the benefit of
the window that will be open from August 14, 2019 - August 13,
2020.

The purpose of the window is to give victims access to justice who
had been shut out of the system. THE WINDOW OPENS AUGUST
14, 2019 AND CLOSES AUGUST 13, 2020.
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Trusted Resources

1 CHILD USA: www .childusa.org

z CHILD USAdvocacy: www .childusadvocacy.org

To find a Child Advocacy Center near you
visit: www nationalcac.org/find-a-cac

RAINN - Rape, Abuse, & Incest National
Network: www rainn.org

The National Sexual Assault Telephone
Hotline: 1-800-656-HOPE (4673)

NCVC - The National Center for Victims of
Crime: victimsofcrime.org/help-for-crime-victims

The National Suicide Prevention Hotline:
1-800-273-8255

The National Center for Exploited and Missing
Children: www.missingkids.org/gethelpnow

The National Human Trafficking Hotline:
1-888-373-7888 QHILD =
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