

August 26, 2020

Tom Falcone Chief Executive Officer Long Island Power Authority 333 Earle Ovington Blvd. Uniondale, NY 11553.

Dear Mr. Falcone,

We are writing to you about PSEG-LI's customer reimbursement for spoiled food and medication because of Tropical Storm Isaias. While we appreciate the fact that the company is offering this policy to customers on Long Island, we are greatly concerned about how the reimbursement is being paid for.

The Long Island Power Authority (LIPA) has publicly stated that funds to cover customer reimbursements will come from this year's prospective bonus, comprised of ratepayer funds. This is unacceptable. Hardworking Long Islanders should not foot the bill for PSEG-LI's mismanagement. Rather, PSEG-LI's shareholders and those from its parent company, PSEG, should fund these reimbursements. As you know, these entities have reaped tens of millions of dollars in profits from past bonuses based on meeting performance metrics (which, based on their performance during the last storm, is highly questionable whether such previous bonuses were merited), and it is far more just to ask them to use those funds instead.

Our constituents have lost faith in their utilities and the institutions meant to oversee them. This arrangement smacks of a "shell game," and would more likely achieve accountability and the perception of accountability if PSEG-LI has to fund these reimbursements and actually feel the consequences of its failure. Therefore, we ask LIPA to mandate PSEG-LI shareholder's cover the

entire cost of customer reimbursements for spoiled food and medications from previous year profits and bonuses. It is only equitable that this cost comes out of shareholders'—not ratepayers'— pockets.

Sincerely,

Low rsky

Todd Kaminsky Senator, 9th District

Kevin Thomas Senator, 6th District

Phil Bye

Phil Boyle Senator, 4th District

CC: John Rhodes, Chair of the Public Service Commission

John E. Buoks Ams M. Asplan

John Brooks Senator, 8th District

James F. Daughtan

James Gaughran Senator, 5th District

Anna Kaplan Senator, 7th District

Monica Martinez Senator, 3rd District

- A

Kenneth Lavelle Senator, 1st District