

STATE OF NEW YORK

January 7, 2020

The Honorable Peter T. Gaynor Acting Administrator Federal Emergency Management Agency 500 C Street S.W. Washington, DC 20472

Dear Acting Administrator Gaynor:

It was recently announced that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has denied Individual Assistance to residents in New York State who were affected by the flooding which occurred Oct. 31 - Nov. 1, 2019. As members of the Mohawk Valley Nine, a bipartisan coalition of state legislators representing Herkimer, Madison and Oneida counties, we believe that FEMA's decision to deny individual assistance to our residents is unacceptable and wrong. As such, we support Governor Cuomo's appeal of this unfortunate decision and request that FEMA take corrective action to provide needed assistance to our affected constituents.

Residents in the Mohawk Valley are financially, emotionally, and physically exhausted by the devastation they have experienced throughout the years. Some households have now been flooded out multiple times. Many have already spent thousands of dollars on repairs and face spending more to repair damages from this past flooding event. A number of residents are still displaced, and hundreds of families have lost their personal property and belongings.

Based on our review of all of the information available, including the results of the joint federal, state, and local government Preliminary Damage Assessment, we believe that the impact to the individuals and households from the Halloween 2019 storm and floods was of a severity and magnitude that warrants the designation of individual assistance. As the Acting Administrator of FEMA, we urge you to act and do what is right for those impacted by the Halloween storm.

Thank you for your consideration of this matter and for supporting our constituents.

Sincerely,

Marianne Buttenschon

Co-Chair, Mohawk Valley Nine

Marianne Buttenschun

Member of Assembly, 119th District

en Blanfenbus

Kenneth D. Blankenbush Member of Assembly, 117th District James L. Seward

Co-Chair, Mohawk Valley Nine

Senator, 51st District

Joseph A. Griffo Senator, 47th District Brian D. Miller

Brian D. Miller Member of Assembly, 101st District

John J. Salka

Member of Assembly, 121st District

Robert J. Smullen Member of Assembly, 118th District Rachel May

Senator, 53rd District

James N. Tedisco Senator, 49th District