

Purpose for a Saltwater Registry

The registry maintains a "phone book" that helps the National Marine Fisheries Service quickly and easily reach current fisherman to learn about their most recent fishing activities. DEC plans to use this information in the future to better communicate with anglers.

Information collected will help improve estimates of fishing effort and landings and will help ensure that fishing regulations put in place to conserve fisheries are fair, effective and based on sound science.

This information is vital as it is used to set quotas, size and bag limits and seasons in subsequent years. It is important for all saltwater anglers to register so that New York receives a fair share of harvest quotas.



New York State Recreational Marine Fishing Registry

On March 31, 2011, the New York State Legislature established a no-fee recreational marine fishing registry to take the place of the recreational marine fishing license previously implemented in October 2009.

The new no-fee registry was signed with a "sunset clause," set to expire December 31, 2013. This means that the recreational marine fishing license and fees will return in 2014 unless the law is further amended or repealed.

Who Needs To Register?

You must register each year if you are:

- Age 16 and older
- Fishing in waters of the Marine and Coastal District

 (all waters of the Atlantic Ocean within 3 nautical miles from the coast and all other tidal waters within the state, including the Hudson River up to the Governor Malcolm Wilson Tappan Zee Bridge)
- Fishing in the Hudson River, Delaware River, or Mohawk River and their tributaries (streams) for "migratory fish of the sea" such as striped bass, hickory shad, blueback herring, or alewife

Exceptions

Party and Charter Boats

Captains

A party or charter boat owner must purchase a \$250 license to carry recreational fishing passengers in the Marine and Coastal District or to land fish taken outside the territorial waters of New York (beyond 3 miles). This license automatically enrolls the party or charter vessel in the registry.

Anglers

You do not need to register if you are fishing on an appropriately licensed party or charter boat in New York's Marine and Coastal District.

This exemption does not apply for party or charter boats in the Hudson River and tributaries (streams) that are north of the Tappan Zee Bridge.



Registering is Easy!

Online* www.dec.ny.gov/permits/28941.html

By Phone* 1-86-NY-DECALS (1-866-933-2257)

At a Store

Visit a town clerk; bait and tackle shop; sporting goods store; or a DEC regional office in Albany, Allegheny, Buffalo, Ray Brook, and Watertown where hunting and fishing licenses are offered. A listing of License Issuing Agents is available at: www.dec.ny.gov/permits/6101.html#person

*If registering by phone or online, it may take up to two to three weeks to receive a registration card in the mail. However, you will receive a confirmation number to verify your registration. This can be used as proof of registration so you can begin fishing immediately. Please carry this confirmation number with you while fishing.

Fishing Outside of New York's Waters

Federal Waters (beyond 3 miles from shore)

The New York State Registry covers anglers fishing in these waters.

Bordering Waters

Connecticut and Rhode Island

New York State registered anglers (both resident and non-resident) are able to fish in the bordering waters of Connecticut or Rhode Island without having to purchase a Connecticut or Rhode Island marine fishing license.

New Jersey

New York anglers must register through New Jersey's Saltwater Recreational Registry Program before fishing.

Non-bordering Waters

The New York State Registry does not cover anglers fishing in waters of non-bordering states.



Before Going Fishing

Grab Your License/Registration Card

The registry is your license to fish in marine waters. Failure to register or carry your recreational marine registry card will subject you to enforcement and paying substantial fines. Current fines can be up to \$250.

Check the New York Fishing Season Regulations

Review the New York Recreational Saltwater Fishing Regulations for the current finfish size, season and bag limits.

www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/7894.html

