Search OpenLegislation Statutes

This entry was published on 2021-06-04
The selection dates indicate all change milestones for the entire volume, not just the location being viewed. Specifying a milestone date will retrieve the most recent version of the location before that date.
State university of New York established
Education (EDN) CHAPTER 16, TITLE 1, ARTICLE 8
§ 352. State university of New York established. 1. There is hereby
created in the state education department and within the university of
the state of New York as established under the board of regents a
corporation to be known as the state university of New York which shall
be responsible for the planning, supervision and administration of
facilities and programs in accordance with the plan proposed by the
state university trustees as approved by the regents pursuant to section
two hundred thirty-seven of this chapter. The state university shall
provide for higher education supported in whole or in part with state
moneys in accordance with the provisions of section three hundred
fifty-eight hereof, and shall perform such other duties as may be
entrusted to it by the provisions of this article and any other law.
Subject to the terms of any agreement to which it is a party, such
corporation shall have the care, custody, control and management of the
lands, grounds, buildings, facilities and equipment used for the
purposes of the state-operated institutions of the state university, and
it shall have power to protect, preserve and improve the same.

2. Whenever such corporation acquires, absorbs, merges or consolidates
with or becomes the successor to any higher educational institution, all
the right, title and interest in real property held by such predecessor
institution shall vest in and be held and enjoyed by the people of the
state of New York and state university of New York shall thereupon be
deemed to be vested with and become the successor to all right, title
and interest in any personal property, or any beneficial interest
therein, or any other rights and powers possessed by such institution,
whether derived by gift, grant, devise or bequest, in trust or

3. The state university shall consist of the four university centers
at Albany, Binghamton, Buffalo and Stony Brook, the designated colleges
of arts and sciences at Brockport, Buffalo, Cortland, Fredonia, Geneseo,
New Paltz, Old Westbury, Oneonta, Oswego, Plattsburgh, Potsdam and
Purchase, empire state college, the agricultural and technical colleges
at Alfred, Canton, Cobleskill, Delhi, Farmingdale and Morrisville,
downstate medical center, upstate medical center, the college of
optometry, the college of environmental science and forestry, maritime
college, the college of technology at Utica/Rome, the statutory or
contract colleges at Cornell university and Alfred university, and such
additional universities, colleges and other institutions, facilities and
research centers as have been or hereafter may be acquired, established,
operated or contracted to be operated for the state by the state
university trustees.