Commending the Long Island Ducks Baseball Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2012 Atlantic League Championship

download pdf

Sponsored By


view additional co-sponsors



LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commending the Long Island Ducks Baseball Team
upon the occasion of capturing the 2012 Atlantic League Championship

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to
those exemplary athletes who excel in athletics, distinguishing them-
selves through notable achievements and representing the great Empire
State with pride and determination; and
WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-
standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commend
the Long Island Ducks Baseball Team upon the occasion of capturing the
2012 Atlantic League Championship; and
WHEREAS, Ably led by Manager Kevin Baez, the Long Island Ducks Base-
ball Team are the Atlantic League Champions; playing in the fifth game
of a series tied at two games, the Ducks defeated the Lancaster Barn-
stormers by a score of 5-4 on Sunday, October 7, 2012, winning their
second title in the franchise's 13-year history; and
WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team
members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans,
friends and the community at large; and
WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Long Island Ducks Baseball Team, from
the opening game of the season to participation in the championship,
were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, and of
honor, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and
WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and
accomplishment, and Manager Kevin Baez and these outstanding athletes
have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a
tradition of their community; now, therefore, be it
RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to
congratulate the Long Island Ducks Baseball Team; its members: Chris
Hayes, John Brownell, Eric Niesen, Bobby Blevins, Jared Lansford, Jeremy
Hill, Jino Gonzalez, Nick DeBarr, Josh Lansford, Matt Way, Bob Zimmer-
mann, Leo Rosales, Connor Graham, Josh Johnson, Mitch Canham, Shawn
Williams, Dan Lyons, Ray Navarrete, Bryant Nelson, Brandon Sing, Timo
Perez, Joash Brodin, Kraig Binick, Lee Cruz, and Matt Esquivel; Manager
Kevin Baez and Assistant Coaches Bud Harrelson, Steve Foucault, Jay
Loviglio, and Jamie Quinn, along with Founder and CEO Frank Boulton,
Owners Seth Waugh and Bud Harrelson, and President and General Manager
Michael Pfaff as well as the entire Long Island Ducks administrative
staff on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it
RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be tran-
smitted to the Long Island Ducks Baseball Team and to the aforementioned


  • 10 / Jan / 2013
  • 15 / Jan / 2013
  • 15 / Jan / 2013

Resolution Details

Law Section:
Resolutions, Legislative


Open Legislation comments facilitate discussion of New York State legislation. All comments are subject to moderation. Comments deemed off-topic, commercial, campaign-related, self-promotional; or that contain profanity or hate speech; or that link to sites outside of the nysenate.gov domain are not permitted, and will not be published. Comment moderation is generally performed Monday through Friday.

By contributing or voting you agree to the Terms of Participation and verify you are over 13.