Senate Passes Metzger’s Bill to Allow Cornell Cooperative Extension of Orange County to Access Funding for the 4-H Showcase

Albany, NY...Last week the Senate passed State Senator Jen Metzger’s bill to allow Cornell Cooperative Extension of Orange County (CCEOC) to receive funding for the promotion of agriculture and domestic arts, and become eligible for capital grants provided to county fairs. The Orange County Fair does not typically feature agriculture--a traditional focus of county fairs--and the CCEOC 4-H Showcase will fill that gap. This is the second year that Assembly Member Gunther has carried this legislation in the Assembly where it has not yet been voted on this year.

“Access to state capital grants will enable CCEOC to continue to develop their permanent Education Center and 4-H Park on Finchville Turnpike in Otisville and to expand public access to agricultural fairs and events,” explained Senator Metzger, who chairs the Senate Agriculture Committee. “Agriculture is such an important part of Orange county's economy and rural heritage, and I applaud the work of CCEOC to support and foster public appreciation of the agricultural and domestic arts and help develop the next generation of farmers, horticulturalists, and agricultural entrepreneurs.”

CCEOC’s permanent Education Center and 4-H Park will host youth fairs, 4-H activities and other public events promoting agriculture.

“Taking the lead on this legislation demonstrates Senator Metzger’s commitment to local agriculture,” said Lucy Joyce, Executive Director of CCEOC. “We appreciate her support and look forward to expanding fairs and events featuring agriculture, 4-H and family activities.”

Jen Metzger represents the 42nd Senate District, which includes all of Sullivan County and parts of Delaware, Orange, and Ulster Counties. Senator Metzger serves as Chair of the Agriculture Committee and sits on the Environmental Conservation, Education, Health, Energy and Telecommunications, Local Government, Women’s Issues, Domestic Animal Welfare, and Legislative Commission on Rural Resources Committees.