Senator Andrew Lanza Hosts Annual 5th Grade “There Ought To Be A Law" Contest

There Ought To Be A Law Contest 2023

Staten Island, New York- Senator Andrew Lanza, Deputy Minority Leader hosted his annual “There Ought To Be A Law” contest to award students across Staten Island for the exemplary work demonstrated within their proposed legislative bills.

This contest is a way to recognize students across Staten Island for their excellent work, creativity and passion to improve Staten Island. 5th grade students from schools throughout Staten Island took part in this annual law contest where ideas ranged from safeguarding schools, putting an end to bullying, animal safety, public safety and more. Each participating school sent their submissions to the office of Senator Lanza where winners were selected. Those selected were recognized at a ceremony on Thursday, December 14, 2023 at the Courthouse in Historic Richmondtown.

Senator Andrew Lanza said: “Congratulations to the students who participated in my annual “There Ought To Be A Law” contest. Their work highlights a special passion that our students have for their peers and our Staten Island community. These students are wise beyond their age. I also want to thank their parents and educators for all of their hard work to ensure the children in our community are reaching their fullest potential.”

The 2023 “There Ought To Be A Law” contest winners are:

PS 1: Timothy Pal                           PS 62: Victoria Leigh Nicoletti

PS 3: Dean Aboulessan                  PS 65: Christopher Mosses

PS 5: Alessia De Blasi                    PS 68: Savannah Weiler

PS 8: James Van Name                 PS 74: Tiffany Crawford Stephens

PS 11: Hisham Khan                      Academy of St. Dorothy: Zoey Sezen

PS 23: Vincent Pieters                   Hellenic Charter School: Stefano Kournidakis

PS 29: Sophia Faith Bruno            Our Lady of Good Counsel: John Ryan

PS 32: Sofia Pellizzi                      Our Lady Star of the Sea: Bree Murnane

PS 38: Rokaia Abdelmontaser      St. Ann School: Sarah Melnyk

PS 41: Evelina Plyuta                   St. Charles School: Lorenzo Allone

PS/IS 48: Toni Amanda Stark      St. Clare School: Jenna Jaconetti

PS 53: Owen Bertuccio               St. Teresa-Rita STREAM Academy: Rock Hoti

PS 54: Valentina Minucci