Senator Farley Congratulates Union College Men's Hockey Team

May 07, 2014

Text of the New York State Senate, sponsored by State Senator Hugh T. Farley (R, C, I - Schenectady):


 LEGISLATIVE  RESOLUTION  congratulating  the  Union College Men's Hockey

 Team and Coach Rick Bennett upon the  occasion  of  capturing  the  NCAA

 Division 1 Championship


 WHEREAS,  Excellence  and  success in competitive sports can be achieved

 only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured  by

 dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

   WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical develop-

 ment of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by

 instilling  in  them  the  value  of teamwork, encouraging a standard of

 healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of

 fair play and competition; and

   WHEREAS, The Union College Men's Hockey Team are the NCAA  Division  1

 Champions; they defeated Minnesota with an impressive 7-4 victory before

 a  crowd  of  18,742,  on  Saturday,  April 12, 2014, at the Wells Fargo

 Center in Philadelphia; this championship earned Union College its first

 NCAA Division 1 Championship in any sport; and

   WHEREAS, The Union Dutchmen Hockey Team advanced to  the  championship

 game  after  defeating  Boston  College 5-4 on Thursday, April 10, 2014,

 before more than 17,000 spectators; and

   WHEREAS, Loyally  and  enthusiastically  supported  by  family,  fans,

 friends  and  the  community  at  large,  the  Dutchmen  finished  their

 outstanding season with a record of 32-6-4, the most wins in the 71-sea-

 son history of Union Hockey; in addition, they captured the ECAC regular

 season title as well as the ECAC hockey championship; and

   WHEREAS, Four members of this  extraordinary  team  received  AHCA/CCM

 All-America  Honors,  they are: Mat Bodie and Shayne Gostisbehere, named

 to the East First Team, and Daniel Carr and Colin Stevens, named to  the

 East Second Team; and

   WHEREAS,  Founded  in 1795, Union College, located in Schenectady, New

 York, is a small liberal arts institution with an enrollment of approxi-

 mately 2,100 full-time students; and

   WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is  due  in  great

 part  to  the efforts of Coach Rick Bennett, a skilled and inspirational

 tutor, respected for his ability to develop potential  into  excellence;


   WHEREAS,  The  hallmarks  of the Union College Men's Hockey Team, from

 the opening game of the season to  participation  in  the  championship,

 were  a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor

 and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second  to

 none; and

   WHEREAS,  Athletically  and  academically, the Union team members have

 proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting

 favorably on their school; they are true role models for all  collegiate

 athletic teams across the Nation; and

   WHEREAS,  Coach  Rick Bennett, along with Assistant Coaches Joe Dumais

 and Jason Tapp, and Volunteer Assistant Coach John Ronan,  have  done  a

 superb  job  in  guiding,  molding and inspiring the team members toward

 their goals; and

   WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and

 accomplishment, and Coach Rick Bennett and the 27  outstanding  athletes

 have  clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a

 tradition of their school; this impressive achievement is  a  source  of

 considerable  pride for the College, the City and County of Schenectady,

 and the entire State of New York; now, therefore, be it

   RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause  in  its  deliberations  to

 congratulate  the  Union  College  Men's  Hockey Team; its members: Mark

 Bennett, Mat Bodie, Daniel  Carr,  Daniel  Ciampini,  Sam  Coatta,  Nick

 Cruice,  Theo  DiPauli, Sebastien Gingras, Alex Gonye, Shayne Gostisbeh-

 ere, Matt Hatch, Noah Henry, Cole Ikkala, Matt  Krug,  Eli  Lichtenwald,

 Griffyn  Martin, Max Novak, Dillon Pieri, Michael Pontarelli, David Roy,

 Alex Sakellaropoulos, Colin Stevens, Kevin Sullivan, Jeff Taylor,  Char-

 lie  Vasaturo,  Mike  Vecchione,  and  Matt Wilkins; Coach Rick Bennett,

 Assistant Coaches Joe Dumais and Jason  Tapp,  and  Volunteer  Assistant

 Coach  John  Ronan  on their outstanding season and overall team record;

 and be it further

   RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be tran-

 smitted to the Union College Men's Hockey Team and Coach Rick Bennett.