Search OpenLegislation Statutes
This entry was published on 2014-09-22
The selection dates indicate all change milestones for the entire volume, not just the location being viewed. Specifying a milestone date will retrieve the most recent version of the location before that date.
Adirondack park agency
Executive (EXC) CHAPTER 18, ARTICLE 27
§ 803. Adirondack park agency. There is hereby created in the
executive department, the Adirondack park agency, which shall consist of
the following members: the commissioner of environmental conservation,
the secretary of state, the commissioner of commerce and eight members
to be appointed by the governor by and with the advice and consent of
the senate. The governor shall designate a chairman from among the
members appointed to the agency, who shall serve at the governor's
pleasure. None of the members appointed by the governor shall be
officers or employees of any state department or agency.

Five members appointed by the governor shall be full-time residents
within the Adirondack park provided, however, that no two such members
shall be residents of the same county except for such members initially
appointed before January first, nineteen hundred seventy-three, who may
be reappointed for additional successive terms. Three members appointed
by the governor shall be residents of the state outside the Adirondack
park. Not more than five appointed members shall be of the same
political party.

All appointments shall be made for terms of four years; provided that
the first member appointed by the governor pursuant to the increase of
members from seven to eight shall be appointed for a term expiring on
the thirtieth day of June, nineteen hundred seventy-six. Each of such
appointed members of the agency shall hold office for the term for which
he was appointed and until his successor shall have been appointed and
qualified or until he shall resign or be removed in the manner provided
by law. In the case of any vacancy other than one arising by expiration
of term, an appointment to fill the vacancy shall be made for the
remainder of the unexpired term.

The designated chairman shall receive an annual salary of thirty
thousand dollars. The other members of the agency, except those who
serve ex officio, shall receive one hundred dollars per diem, not to
exceed five thousand dollars per annum compensation for their services
as members of the agency. All members, except those who serve ex
officio, shall be allowed the necessary and actual expenses incurred in
the performance of duties under this article.

A majority of the members of the agency shall constitute a quorum for
the transaction of any business or the exercise of any power or function
of the agency and affirmative vote by a majority of the members of the
agency, except as is otherwise specifically provided in this article,
shall be required to exercise any power or function of the agency. Votes
of any member shall be cast in person and not by proxy. The agency may
delegate to one or more of its members, officers, agents and employees,
such powers and duties as it deems proper.

The commissioner of environmental conservation and the commissioner of
commerce and the secretary of state may, by official authority filed in
their respective agencies, and with the Adirondack park agency,
designate a deputy or other officer to exercise his powers and perform
his duties, including the right to vote, on the agency.