Search OpenLegislation Statutes
This entry was published on 2014-09-22
The selection dates indicate all change milestones for the entire volume, not just the location being viewed. Specifying a milestone date will retrieve the most recent version of the location before that date.
Districts and number of judges therein
Uniform District Court Act (UDC) CHAPTER 565, ARTICLE 23
§ 2405. Districts and number of judges therein. The county shall be
divided into judicial districts as follows: The county as a whole shall
constitute the first judicial district in which one district court judge
shall be elected. The town of Hempstead shall be the second judicial
district, the town of North Hempstead the third judicial district and
the town of Oyster Bay the fourth judicial district. There shall be
fourteen district court judges elected in the second district, five in
the third district and six in the fourth district. For the purpose of
electing such judges and for the purpose of determining the boundaries
of such districts, any city heretofore or hereafter created from the
territory of any town shall be considered to be part of that town.

The compensation of the judges of the district court authorized on the
effective date of this act shall be the same as the existing judges of
the district court.