Senator Martins Congratulates Thanksgiving Essay Winners

Jack M. Martins

January 30, 2014

Senator Jack M. Martins congratulated the winners of the 2013 Seventh Senate District Thanksgiving Essay Contest that asked six grade students to write an essay about what they are most thankful for. A student from each school who captured the spirit of the holidays was invited to a special reception at the Hillside Library, where the students read their essays aloud. The students exhibited creativity and a sense of humility in discussing what they are most thanful for. Many wrote about their famlies, friends and children. Senator Martins thanked the students for their participation and congratulated them on an outstanding job.

There are:

Fiona Kurian - Covert Avenue School

Peter Karagiorgis - New Hyde Park Road School

Nicholas Moundros - Manor Oaks School

Nattia Lawrence - St. Brigid's School

Emily Martocci - Stewart Manor School

Julia Fortunato - Rushmore Avenue School

Sarah Pavan - Vincent Smith School

Sophia Buccellato - Willow Road Elementary School

Eve Kennedy - St. Aidan's School

Victoria Godinho - Mineola Middle School

Joseph Verde - John Street School

Netta Mualem - Great Neck North Middle School

Rodhamson PointDuJour - Dutch Broadway School

Anna Craig - Floral Park-Bellerose School

Rohan Gupta - Herricks Middle School

Hannah Calleo - St. Mary's School

Jackeline Fernandes - Weber Middle School

Alexandra Chamblin - Polk Street School