Senator Serrano assisted Council Member Vanessa Gibson in honoring some outstanding Bronx citizens at her Hispanic Heritage Month Celebration. The Honorees consisted of many people and organizations that have made various contributions to the community. Senator Serrano provided the honorees with New York State Senate proclamations celebrating their contributions to society. 

In so many ways, our senior citizens represent the backbone and foundation of our families and communities. They understand the importance of history and tradition, while also recognizing areas for change and growth. We appreciate all they have done to help build our community, and now it's important that we support those who have given so much to us.

Senator José M. Serrano, in conjunction the with NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital, RiverSpring Health offered free flu shots at his District Office. State Senator Bill Perkins, NYC Council Speaker Melissa Mark-Viverito, and Assembly Member Robert Rodriguez co-sponsored this beneficial service for the East Harlem community

On the East Coast, hurricane season typically lasts from June until November, with New York City most at risk between August and October. This past month, Senator Serrano offered off-site constituent services hours focused on preparing residents of the 29th Senate District for emergency situations and natural disasters. On select days, the office partnered with Governor Cuomo's Citizen Preparedness Corps, New York City Emergency Management (NYCEM), and the American Red Cross to host training courses and information sessions.

Senator Serrano joined Assemblymember Robert Rodriguez and his team for their annual Senior Summit for the East Harlem community. Senator Serrano was proud to help the Assemblymember kick off the annual event by giving opening remarks which highlighted their partnership to help the East Harlem community. Senator Serrano's office also participated in the program by hosting an information table about their off-site constituent hours at local senior centers in East Harlem and the services available for seniors through state agencies. 

In New York City, all puppies and kittens are required to get their first rabies shot between three and four months of age, then regularly every one to four years. Senator Serrano joined the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene in hosting a free rabies vaccination event for cats and dogs in East Harlem. Many dog owners were also able to take advantage of the on-the-spot dog licensing that was available. Approximately 150 dogs and cats received their rabies vaccination and/or their owners were able to get them licensed. 

State Senator Hugh T. Farley (R, C, I - Schenectady) will be honored by the Johnstown Historical Society at the organization’s annual dinner on November 12th at 7 p.m. at the Johnstown Holiday Inn.

Reservations for the dinner are still available by calling Helen Martin of the Johnstown Historical Society at 762-7638.

It is with great sadness that I join our state and nation in remembering Tuskegee Airmen member Mr. Audley Coulthurst following his recent passing. Mr. Coulthurst and his fellow Tuskegee Airmen broke barriers in order to serve their nation during World War II and their pioneering efforts helped the Allies achieve victory.

The New York State Senate had the privilege of welcoming Mr. Coulthurst and his fellow Tuskegee Airman to the Senate Chamber in June to recognize their service to our nation and we were all honored to be part of that special moment.

The 2nd Avenue Subway Construction Public Hearing

related issues:

This is a report by the New York State Senate Committee on Corporations, Authorities, and Commissions chaired by Senator Bill Perkins. It is an overview of the public hearing on the 2nd Avenue construction projection, held on November 30, 2010. The hearing was presided over by Committee Chair, Senator Bill Perkins and Committee member Senator Daniel Squadron as well as Senator Liz Krueger and Senator Jose M. Serrano.


Purpose of Hearing