Senator Helming Recognizes Local Veterans

2022 Veterans Hall of Fame

At a November 2nd ceremony held at Heritage Baptist Church in Palmyra, Senator Pam Helming recognized 21 local veterans who were nominated by their family and friends for the 2022 New York State Senate Veterans Hall of Fame.  

“It is an honor to recognize these men and women, nominated by their family and friends, who answered the call to serve their country," said Senator Helming. “Each veteran’s story is unique. But there is one common theme. When they completed their military service, they didn’t hang up their uniforms and say, ‘My service is done.’ They asked, ‘What more can I do to help others?’ They went on to serve their communities, their neighbors, and their fellow veterans. God bless our veterans and military families.” 

Pictured above

Front row: Rudolf Van der Velden (Ontario County) 

Middle row, L-R: Kenneth W. Winkler (Ontario County); Lee E. Weaver (Tompkins County); Dr. Grace Maria Freier (Seneca County); Ann Guest (Wayne County); Gary I. Ginsburg (Monroe County); Senator Helming; William Irwin (Seneca County); Jaime Balcom (Wayne County); Donald Hoffman, accepting for Peter T. Yaskow* (Wayne County), recognized posthumously; Klaus Liedmann (Wayne County) 

Back row, L-R: John Bruening (Wayne County); David G. Borland (Ontario County); John G. Pilc (Wayne County); William R. Bolling (Wayne County); August Abel Jr. (Cayuga County); Henry Decker (Ontario County); William A. Valois III (Seneca County) 

Not pictured are nominees Mark Burns (Seneca County); Ronald Calman (Ontario County); and Joseph V. Perdicho* (Seneca County) and Dr. M. Richard Rose* (Seneca County), both recognized posthumously. 

*recognized posthumously